Author Topic: looking for a quick test script for xlights  (Read 248 times)

Offline grjmmr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2019
  • Location:
  • Posts: 10
  • Kudos: 0
looking for a quick test script for xlights
« on: May 22, 2019, 09:53:10 AM »
So bear with me. I bought a Falcon controller to use in my band. The idea is to have the Falcon control a 128*64 matrix that will act as a band banner/video wall and light fixture. I will be using the Jinx! software


http://www.live-leds.de/


to send the data to the Falcon via Art Net.


The problem is I can't seem to get anything to run. So I don't know if it is  a hardware or software issue. My thought was to download xlights and see if anyone in the community has a script that I can run to light up a 16*16 ws2812b led matrix


https://www.amazon.com/BTF-LIGHTING-0-48ft0-48ft-Flexible-Individually-addressable/dp/B01DC0IOCK/ref=sr_1_20_sspa?keywords=ws2812b&qid=1558539136&s=gateway&sr=8-20-spons&psc=1


that I am using as a test fixture. My thought is if the matrix lights up using the test script; then the problem is a software issue and Jinx! may not be compatible. Or I am an idiot, which is more likely. If it still doesn't light up, then it is a hardware issue and I can at least zero in on why my computer isn't communicating with the Falcon controller.


Before you ask, I did a port scan and my computer sees the Falcon controller. the computer has a IP of 192.168.001.051 (255.255.255.000) and the Falcon has an IP of 192.168.001.050 which I can confirm both visually and though the port scan.


Thank you in advance,


William

Offline grjmmr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2019
  • Location:
  • Posts: 10
  • Kudos: 0
Re: looking for a quick test script for xlights
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2019, 02:46:06 PM »
it appears that I can set up E1.31 within xlights and then test the configuration without creating a sequence.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,296
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: looking for a quick test script for xlights
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2019, 03:39:00 PM »
The F16v2 and v3 have a Test button. Do you get pixel activity then?

Have you connected to that controller from your PC and configured the strings?

What level of firmware are you running on that F16v2 ?  The oldest versions didn't support Artnet - it got added later. If you bought that board used, it may never have been updated.

 

Back to top