Author Topic: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player  (Read 417 times)

Offline mt2525

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 14
  • Kudos: 0
Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« on: June 07, 2019, 10:38:36 PM »
First attempt at using a Pi player. Simple setup for first test. Set up a simple sequence in x-lights for my landscaping lights....which are WS2811's. From xlights they play fine. Using an EsPixelstick to run the lights. From the EsPixelstick set up page I set it to 1 universe....in my case universe 110 and start channel at 1. From its test page the lights respond. In the Falcon player output page I set up one universe to match the controller (universe 110). It is checked both for active and enabled. Channel count is 510 which matches the EsPixelstick. The universe type is E1.31 multicast. From the file manager I uploaded the fseq file from xlights. Go to display testing and can not get the lights to run from either the sequence tab or the channel tab. What am I missing? Any help would be appreciated

Offline Kensington Graves

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 129
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2019, 11:41:33 PM »
Sounds like FPP isnt reaching your controller.  On your Channel Output page under the E1.31 tab, what source interface do you have showing in the drop down box eth0 or wlan0?   How is your FPP connected to the network?  Is the pixelstick on the same subnet as the source interface?

Also, do the lights activate if you use the FPP display testing option under the Status menu item?

Posting screenshots of your setup would be really helpful in diagnosing the problem.

Offline mt2525

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 14
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #2 on: June 08, 2019, 12:14:47 AM »
Using wifi to connect FPP. They are both on 192.168.0.xxx. Lights do not activate on the display testing

Offline dkulp

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Framingham, MA
  • Posts: 1,586
  • Kudos: 92
    • KulpLights.com
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #3 on: June 08, 2019, 12:26:52 AM »
You have xLights and the ESPixelStick configured for unicast, but FPP configured for multicast.   Turn on the Multicast checkbox on the pixel stick if you want it to respond to multicast packets.

Offline mt2525

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 14
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #4 on: June 08, 2019, 12:39:37 AM »
Checked the multicast box and restarted everything to make sure but still no lights from the display testing tab or from the loaded fseq file. By the way when I hit play on the sequence file it shows in the upper right corner that it started and when I hit stop it shows that it stopped but no lights.

Offline mt2525

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 14
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #5 on: June 08, 2019, 12:52:37 AM »
Changed it to unicast in the FPP and entered IP and it works.  Thanks for taking the time to answer

Offline Sawdust

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Folsom, CA - - - - - - - - - - - Cell Block 7
  • Posts: 669
  • Kudos: 8
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #6 on: June 08, 2019, 08:12:11 AM »
When I run ESPixelStrcks I try to avoid using unicast....it seems to stall, then fast forward to catch up.  Or causes the show to be just offbeat. This is causes because unicast sends a packet and requires is acknowledgement. With WiFi, packets are dropped a lot, so the data is resent many times until it is acknowledged, or times out.....hence the freeze.  In Multicast, there is no acknowledgement required so if a packet is not received, the show goes on but missed a flash or two.  Multicast helps to keep WiFi controllers (ESPixelSicks) on beat. Unicast is not normally an issue on wired devices, unless they are offline...un check those unicast FPP ports that are online.

Offline mt2525

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 14
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #7 on: June 08, 2019, 10:10:43 AM »
When in multicast I was unable to get the lights to play from the FPP. I will try again using multicast and report back.

Offline Kensington Graves

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 129
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #8 on: June 08, 2019, 01:21:56 PM »
As Dan noted, the problem was your Xlights setup.  It was set to unicast-that is, you defined a single controller by IP addressbut FPP was set to multicast.  You fixed it by mirroring the Xlights setting in FPP. 

If you change your Xlights setup to multicast (no IP address will show up) and set FPP to multicast for the range of channels/universes on the ESPixelStick, you should be set with multicast.

Offline mt2525

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 14
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #9 on: June 08, 2019, 05:33:12 PM »
Ok...still not getting it to work in multicast. Here is exactly what I am trying to set up. Have 4 Pixelstick controllers for 4 different sets of landscape lights. They are ws2811. Can not configure the Pixelsticks to start at a channel higher than 510. So I thought I could set up each Pixelstick controller to its own ip address and universe allowing me to start at channel 1 for each Pixelstick.. 192.168.0.210 for universe 110, 192.168.0.211 for universe 111, 192.168.0.212 for universe 112, 192.168.0.213 for universe and 113. Each controller would be controlling a small amount of lights. Universe 110 would have 7 pixels...111 would have 11 pixels, 112 would have 10 pixels and 113 would have 12 pixels. With the above info what is the best way to set this up in x-lights and FPP ?

Offline Sawdust

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Folsom, CA - - - - - - - - - - - Cell Block 7
  • Posts: 669
  • Kudos: 8
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #10 on: June 08, 2019, 09:11:56 PM »
Can you post your FPP E1.31 screen and ESPixelStick Device Setup screen, and I try to coach thru your setup.

Note: ESPixelStice is universe/start channel number of pixel dependent. 

Example my setup would be (second line of FPP E1.31)
=FPP=
FPP Start = 513 (yours likely 511 - I use 512 universe boundary)
Universe number = 2
Universe count = 2
Universe Type = Multicast

=ESPixelStick=
Universe = 2
Start Channel = 1
Universe Boundary = 512 (yours 510)
Check - Enable Multicast
Pixel count = 200

Note:  although the start channel in FPP is 513, ESPixelStick is still 1
Could be anything within the boundary (1 -512)

Offline mt2525

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 14
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #11 on: June 08, 2019, 09:27:17 PM »
Here is current set up. The Pixelstick shown is the first one. I have tried multicast but fail to get lights out of FPP testing tab. In unicast I get lights.

Offline Sawdust

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Folsom, CA - - - - - - - - - - - Cell Block 7
  • Posts: 669
  • Kudos: 8
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #12 on: June 08, 2019, 09:34:48 PM »
I just saw your previous posting of screens.  Not bad, just need to check enable Multicast.....I think I read you did that.

Verify enable Multicast is checked and saved to ESPixelStick. <======== Must Do

Now bypass xLight, and go to FPP test page and test.
- Status Control
- - Display Testing

Offline mt2525

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 14
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #13 on: June 08, 2019, 09:40:12 PM »
Can I run 4 different Pixelsticks in multicast with each having its own IP address and universe starting at channel 1 for each? I understand that I need to change the output of FPP to multicast too.

Offline Sawdust

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Folsom, CA - - - - - - - - - - - Cell Block 7
  • Posts: 669
  • Kudos: 8
Re: Can not get lights to run from Falcon player
« Reply #14 on: June 08, 2019, 09:51:28 PM »
Forget IP address Think Universe and Start
Yes
 Univ 100 start 1
 Univ 101 start 1
 Univ 102 start 1
 Univ 103 start 1

===========================
Provided you only have one universe count of pixels.  I run up to 4 univers os pixel on a single ESPixelStick

I see you list 7 pixels
FPP uni 100, univ 1 univ count 1

Lets say you have 4 - 7 pixel elements. 
ESP#1  u100, s1, 7 pixels
ESP#2 u100, s22, 7 pixels
ESP#3 u100, s43, 7 pixels
ESP#4 u100, s64, 7 pixels
« Last Edit: June 09, 2019, 05:07:53 AM by Sawdust »

 

Back to top