Author Topic: FPD no output tab FPP3.0  (Read 90 times)

Offline mac50

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Location: Cumberland County, Illinois
  • Posts: 64
  • Kudos: 2
FPD no output tab FPP3.0
« on: August 13, 2019, 09:34:38 AM »
Been updating my PI's and BBB"s to 3.0 by imaging usd cards. Dug the pi with falcon FPD out of garage and put in new card and did not get an setup tab in the channel outputs.
Checkin logs got this
2019-08-13 09:35:13 (2158) log.c:220:=========================================
 2019-08-13 09:35:13 (2158) log.c:221:FPP 3.0
 2019-08-13 09:35:13 (2158) log.c:222:Branch: v3.0
 2019-08-13 09:35:13 (2158) log.c:223:=========================================
 2019-08-13 09:35:13 (2161) channeloutput/FPD.c:277:Initializing SPI for FPD output
 2019-08-13 09:35:13 (2161) falcon.c:586:Falcon Hardware Detected on SPI port 0
 2019-08-13 09:35:14 (2161) falcon.c:587:    Model           : FPD v1.x
 2019-08-13 09:35:14 (2161) falcon.c:588:    Firmware Version: 0.0
 2019-08-13 09:35:14 (2161) falcon.c:603:Setting SPI speed to 8000000 for FPD v1.x hardware.
 2019-08-13 09:35:15 (2161) channeloutput/channeloutput.c:169:FPD:  Determined range needed 0 - 32767
2019-08-13 09:35:15 (2161) channeloutput/processors/BrightnessOutputProcessor.cpp:33:Brightness:   8705-8965 => Brightness:60   Gamma: 1.000000
 2019-08-13 09:35:15 (2161) channeloutput/processors/BrightnessOutputProcessor.cpp:33:Brightness:   9217-9477 => Brightness:60   Gamma: 1.000000
 2019-08-13 09:35:15 (2161) channeloutput/processors/BrightnessOutputProcessor.cpp:33:Brightness:   9729-9989 => Brightness:60   Gamma: 1.000000
 2019-08-13 09:35:15 (2161) channeloutput/processors/BrightnessOutputProcessor.cpp:33:Brightness:   10241-10501 => Brightness:60   Gamma: 1.000000
 2019-08-13 09:35:15 (2161) channeloutput/processors/BrightnessOutputProcessor.cpp:33:Brightness:   10753-11013 => Brightness:60   Gamma: 1.000000
 2019-08-13 09:35:16 (2161) channeloutput/processors/BrightnessOutputProcessor.cpp:33:Brightness:   11265-11525 => Brightness:60   Gamma: 1.000000
 2019-08-13 09:35:16 (2161) channeloutput/processors/ColorOrderOutputProcessor.cpp:31:Color Order:   10753-11535 => 321
 2019-08-13 09:35:16 (2161) channeloutput/processors/ColorOrderOutputProcessor.cpp:31:Color Order:   11265-12047 => 312
 2019-08-13 09:35:16 (2161) channeloutput/channeloutput.c:348:Determined range needed 0 - 32767 2019-08-13 09:35:16 (2161) channeloutput/FPD.c:141:Error: SPI->xfer returned -1, expecting 32774
2019-08-13 09:35:16 (2161) command.c:80:Initializing Command Module
 2019-08-13 09:35:17 (2161) fppd.c:594:Starting main processing loop
 2019-08-13 09:35:18 (2176) channeloutput/FPD.c:141:Error: SPI->xfer returned -1, expecting 32774
 2019-08-13 09:35:19 (2176) channeloutput/FPD.c:141:Error: SPI->xfer returned -1, expecting 32774


The last log line repeats until over and over until pi shutdown.

Any ideas?


Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,296
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: FPD no output tab FPP3.0
« Reply #1 on: August 13, 2019, 09:41:53 AM »
Because the "good old FPD" does not have an ID chip on it, it is not being detected during bootup. Version 3.0 now attempts to only show the FPP Output Connections it detects.

That's why you don't see it.  (per Dan's response below, it should have been detected. Consider this a workaround)

But, in FPP Settings, Advanced Settings, check the Top Box to disable that detection.
« Last Edit: August 13, 2019, 10:17:32 AM by JonB256 »

Offline mac50

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Location: Cumberland County, Illinois
  • Posts: 64
  • Kudos: 2
Re: FPD no output tab FPP3.0
« Reply #2 on: August 13, 2019, 09:50:00 AM »
Quote
Because the "good old FPD" does not have an ID chip on it, it is not being detected during bootup. Version 3.0 now attempts to only show the FPP Output Connections it detects.

That's why you don't see it.

But, in FPP Settings, Advanced Settings, check the Top Box to disable that detection.
That fixed it.Thanks ;D

Online dkulp

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Framingham, MA
  • Posts: 1,670
  • Kudos: 96
    • KulpLights.com
Re: FPD no output tab FPP3.0
« Reply #3 on: August 13, 2019, 10:04:56 AM »
Because the "good old FPD" does not have an ID chip on it, it is not being detected during bootup. Version 3.0 now attempts to only show the FPP Output Connections it detects.

That's why you don't see it.

But, in FPP Settings, Advanced Settings, check the Top Box to disable that detection.


Well.. no.  It should detect it.


If you run "journalctl -u fppinit" does it show anything after the line:
"FPP - Checking for Falcon hardware on SPI port"


In theory, it's calling off to "/opt/fpp/src/fppd -H" to try and detect if the FPD is there.     From the log, it looks like it was detected when fppd starts up as a daemon, but it sounds like it wasn't detected when it was run at boot just to detect if it's there.   Strange.




Offline mac50

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Location: Cumberland County, Illinois
  • Posts: 64
  • Kudos: 2
Re: FPD no output tab FPP3.0
« Reply #4 on: August 13, 2019, 07:18:14 PM »
Because the "good old FPD" does not have an ID chip on it, it is not being detected during bootup. Version 3.0 now attempts to only show the FPP Output Connections it detects.

That's why you don't see it.

But, in FPP Settings, Advanced Settings, check the Top Box to disable that detection.


Well.. no.  It should detect it.


If you run "journalctl -u fppinit" does it show anything after the line:
"FPP - Checking for Falcon hardware on SPI port"


Ok here is the result, same with detection enable or disabled in Advanced Settings

Aug 13 11:05:19 FPP-PixelNet fpp_init[539]: FPP - Checking for Falcon hardware on SPI port
Aug 13 11:05:20 FPP-PixelNet fpp_init[539]: FPP - Checking for configured LCD, LCD Disabled

Offline mac50

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Location: Cumberland County, Illinois
  • Posts: 64
  • Kudos: 2
Re: FPD no output tab FPP3.0
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2019, 01:04:52 PM »
I was premature in saying that disable detection fixed my issue. The missing output tab returned but I didn't check log until today and am still getting the error.
channeloutput/FPD.c:141:Error: SPI->xfer returned -1, expecting 32774

I have also switched from v3.0 to master branch v3.x-master-24-g5cd30f43 (master branch)

Online dkulp

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Framingham, MA
  • Posts: 1,670
  • Kudos: 96
    • KulpLights.com
Re: FPD no output tab FPP3.0
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2019, 08:41:03 PM »
I think I might have fixed this on master.    Can you do an update and give it a try?

Offline mac50

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2014
  • Location: Cumberland County, Illinois
  • Posts: 64
  • Kudos: 2
Re: FPD no output tab FPP3.0
« Reply #7 on: August 15, 2019, 02:20:03 PM »
I think I might have fixed this on master.    Can you do an update and give it a try?
Looks good, have output tab, no new errors in log. Blue LEDs blinking again on FPD.
Thank you Dan
« Last Edit: August 15, 2019, 02:33:55 PM by mac50 »

 

Back to top