Author Topic: Raspberry Pi questions  (Read 9829 times)

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Raspberry Pi questions
« on: August 10, 2014, 09:55:19 PM »
I'm going to order a Raspberry Pi B plus

since I don't know much about Raspberry Pi yet I have a few questions.

About a display, 
Is an LCD display all that is needed to use it for show computer? 
I see it has a HDMI port on it.  Can I connect it to a HD TV that has a HDMI port?
I have a computer monitor with a 15 pin D connector input. Can I use this monitor?  If so how do I get from HDMI connector on Raspberry to 15 pin connector computer monitor?
thanks
Ken

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #1 on: August 11, 2014, 12:23:14 AM »
no monitor is needed to for the fpp to work. your choices
1) No monitor. Power it up and then inter fpp/ into a browser. everything you need to schedule a show is on the browser.
2) Plug in a hdmi monitor to the hdmi port
3) Plug in a composite monitor (like a epson projector) to the rca jack on a Model B raspberry pi or into the 3.5mm jack on the Model B+
4) Plug in a two line lcd display right on to the fpp. This would be handy if you are using it on a boat, a float, a parade, on a horse. Any place where you might not have a web page access to the pi.

again, most people never use a monitor and just use option 1
Sean
Littleton, CO Latest releases http://nutcracker123.com/nutcracker/releases xLights/Nutcracker Forum http://nutcracker123.com/forum/index.php Facebook [url=https://www.facebook.com/groups

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,102
  • Kudos: 117
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #2 on: August 11, 2014, 04:13:06 AM »
Unless you know Linux, there is little benefit to connecting a monitor.

If you want to learn Linux, you can do monitor/mouse/keyboard.

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #3 on: August 11, 2014, 08:42:17 AM »
Thank you for the replies.
I think I'm in the wrong place.
I thought I could run a light show with the Raspberry using any controllers.
You are talking about using the Raspberry with FPP.  I don't have FPP as a controller.
My show uses Renard and Sandevices.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,102
  • Kudos: 117
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #4 on: August 11, 2014, 09:41:13 AM »
Thank you for the replies.
I think I'm in the wrong place.
I thought I could run a light show with the Raspberry using any controllers.
You are talking about using the Raspberry with FPP.  I don't have FPP as a controller.
My show uses Renard and Sandevices.

Your SanDevices use E131. Not sure how you talk to your Renard. USB?

Anyway, the FPP is the Falcon Pi Player SOFTWARE
I say it that way because there is no hardware needed other than a functioning Raspberry Pi.

As such, you can use the FPP for the E131 output to your SanDevices
And, you can use the USB output to a Renard USB Dongle (if that is you are working).

So - No - I don't think you are in the wrong place. You may be confused by the terminology and acronyms.

JonB

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #5 on: August 11, 2014, 11:28:19 AM »
you might have been comfused by the FPD (Falcon Pi DMX) board and the FPP (Falcon Pi Player) software.

FPD connectes to a raspberry pi via a ribbon cable and gives you 48K channels of Pixelnet/DMX.

If you have j1sys p12r or san devices (e6804,e682,e680) Just need the FPP software and plug into the E1.31 port on the raspberry pi.

In summary
E1.31 devices need no extra hardware, just a pi and the FPP software. Plug ethernet from pi into hub
DMX, OPenDMX, Renard, . Buy $10 USB RS 485 dongle
Pixelnet. USB Dongle
Pixelnet E.31. Use EtherDongle or FPD


Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #6 on: August 11, 2014, 05:38:35 PM »
Yes, I'm confused. I thought FPP is hardware.  Seems that's normal for me when I'm trying learn something new.
Currently I have a desk top PC that I used last season that ran Vixen 2.1. out the USB to xbee Pro to the Renard controllers.
This year I decided that I would try incorporating a Pixel Tree into last seasons sequences with a E682 with the J1sys e1.31 plugin in Vixen.
I converted a xlights/nutcracker sequence to a .vir file and inserted the .vir  into the Vixen sequence. 
Short story, I managed to make that work. 

Now, like I said I don't know much about the Raspberry Pi and I may have miss-understood that I can replace the desktop with the Raspberry and run the show from it.

I had some issues off and on last year with the USB port dropping out.
And so I wanted to try running the show with the Raspberry.

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #7 on: August 22, 2014, 12:43:05 PM »
I ordered the Raspberry Pi +.

And was reading the wiki. I came across the FPP:VastFMT section.

I was broadcasting with the VastFM02 last season.

In order to broadcast sound using Raspberry Pi and FPP, am I going to need to purchase the  V-FMT212-R?

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,625
  • Kudos: 197
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #8 on: August 22, 2014, 02:42:28 PM »
The FM02 will plug into the audio out jack on the Pi directly.
-
Chris

Offline sabie

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 55
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #9 on: August 22, 2014, 09:20:20 PM »
as far as that goes any transmitter will hook up to pi

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #10 on: August 22, 2014, 09:28:57 PM »
that's good, I didn't notice an audio output on it from store pic.

However I think I ordered the wrong 8GB sd card. I might be confused a little on micro Sd Card and SD Card on which the Raspberry takes.
http://www.amazon.com/SanDisk-Ultra-Memory-SDSDU-008G-U46-Change/dp/B00812K4V4/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1408767791&sr=1-2&keywords=8Gb+sd+card
« Last Edit: August 22, 2014, 10:23:44 PM by 11Bravo »

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NC Montana
  • Posts: 1,418
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #11 on: August 22, 2014, 10:45:39 PM »
B takes a SD, B+ takes a mSD

Tony

Sent from my SM-T310 using Tapatalk


Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #12 on: August 23, 2014, 07:22:30 PM »
thanks, better do another order I guess.

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #13 on: August 24, 2014, 01:57:02 PM »
B takes a SD, B+ takes a mSD

Tony

Sent from my SM-T310 using Tapatalk

Do you have to use the adapter with the micro sd card?

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NC Montana
  • Posts: 1,418
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #14 on: August 24, 2014, 03:11:06 PM »
on a B yes - it only takes SD, on a B+ no, it only takes mSD

tony

 

Back to top