Author Topic: Raspberry Pi questions  (Read 10420 times)

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #30 on: September 11, 2014, 11:11:47 AM »
I pinged the pi on 192.168.0.10 and get response of destination host unreachable.

I tried it from the desktop pc which is not on the local network and get the same response.

You know, I could sware that the computer voice from the Pi is saying 192.1680.10 because I don't recognize it placing a period between 168 and the 0,  yet I'm fairly sure a period goes there.  anyway I tried it with and without a period.
Just doesn't seem to want to work for me.

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 989
  • Kudos: 14
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #31 on: September 11, 2014, 11:28:34 AM »
Have you logged into your router to see what address blocks are available?  I know with my Cisco router, the available addresses started at 192.168.0.100 and ran up to 192.168.0.199.  I had to change this on my router in order to access the .10 for the Pi's fallback IP address.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,237
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #32 on: September 11, 2014, 11:30:30 AM »
If you have a firewall enabled, perhaps it is being blocked. It shouldn't, but worth checking.

My router uses 192.168.0.x for its subnet

If yours uses 192.168.1.x instead, you may (again, you shouldn't be) be blocked.
From your PC, attached to the same router, if you type  ipconfig at a command prompt, what text do you get?

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NW Montana
  • Posts: 1,428
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #33 on: September 11, 2014, 12:53:19 PM »
192.168.0.10 is a fall back ip if it can not talk to your router to get a dhcp ip by default.

You need to connect ethernet so it can get a ip and on the net to pull latest software updates when it boots

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk


Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #34 on: September 11, 2014, 02:23:24 PM »
What if I just connect the Ethernet cable from the Pi to the router instead of to the laptop? so then maybe it can get on the internet that way to get the latest software.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,237
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #35 on: September 11, 2014, 02:57:56 PM »
What if I just connect the Ethernet cable from the Pi to the router instead of to the laptop? so then maybe it can get on the internet that way to get the latest software.

That is the way mine connects. Highly advisable.

CAT5 from the FP to your Router.  My PC is also CAT5 to Router.  I still connect to the FP, but the TCP/IP traffic goes back and forth thru the router.


Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NW Montana
  • Posts: 1,428
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #36 on: September 11, 2014, 03:12:50 PM »
This is the normal method.   Your laptop is not giving out a ip when connected direct to the pi.

Everything needs to connect to a router or switch to be able to talk to each other for the easiest way.

Myk


What if I just connect the Ethernet cable from the Pi to the router instead of to the laptop? so then maybe it can get on the internet that way to get the latest software.


Sent from my SM-T310 using Tapatalk


Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #37 on: September 11, 2014, 04:15:52 PM »
Well now I can finally get in.   with 192.168.0.10

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NW Montana
  • Posts: 1,428
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #38 on: September 11, 2014, 04:30:31 PM »
ok, that should change once you get the latest software update.  Are you using the version from sourceforge or from http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,1111.0.html  ?

Tony

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #39 on: September 11, 2014, 07:42:07 PM »
I loaded the v04.0 version from your link to the micro sd card.  But the FPP shows v0.30.

Will the software automatically update when the Pi is connected to the internet?

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: September 11, 2014, 07:51:38 PM by 11Bravo »

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,237
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #40 on: September 11, 2014, 08:08:06 PM »
Your FP OS Build is the 0.4.0 version

You are at (as of 9:06pm CDT) the current and highest version available.

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #41 on: September 11, 2014, 08:12:53 PM »
Your FP OS Build is the 0.4.0 version

You are at (as of 9:06pm CDT) the current and highest version available.

Just wonder why it displays v0.3.0

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NW Montana
  • Posts: 1,428
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #42 on: September 11, 2014, 08:15:57 PM »
030 is the software version
040-b2 is the SD OS version

040 software if all goes well will be released early next week.

Tony

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #43 on: September 11, 2014, 08:31:36 PM »
I don't see how that I am going to be able to use and connect the Pi to my show routers that I have setup to talk to the e682. Because their IP address is 192.168.1.xx.  They are not on the internet.  Can I change the Pi's address to 192.168.1.xx to work with them.

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: Raspberry Pi questions
« Reply #44 on: September 11, 2014, 08:38:19 PM »
I don't see how that I am going to be able to use and connect the Pi to my show routers that I have setup to talk to the e682. Because their IP address is 192.168.1.xx.  They are not on the internet.  Can I change the Pi's address to 192.168.1.xx to work with them.

There are so many options as far as networking. I can do a Teamviwer session with you to get your stuff set. PM me. I am available between 11:00am and 11:00pm MST time everyday but Sunday.

 
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

 

Back to top