Author Topic: How to bring power to falcon boards  (Read 3861 times)

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
How to bring power to falcon boards
« on: July 19, 2013, 12:12:25 PM »
I am thinking of keeping my falcon-16's in my cg-1500 cases and putting my power supplies in a marine battery case from walmart.

I am thinking of getting a trailer hitch setup to bring in the power.

I am going to mount this connector in the 1500
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001EP0G72/ref=ox_sc_act_title_2?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

and i will buy a 4' cable and connector to come from the marine battery case that holds the power supplies
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002QO5G5C/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A1ARUXFWHNCLI6

This, i believe would solve any overheating of the power supplies being next to the falcon board. My only concern is there may not be enough heat produced from the falcon board during our winters (sometimes 5 degrees F). Do we know the operating temperature range for the falcon boards?


Alos, although i am using the 350w $20 power supplies from ray, i was also thinking of using a PC power supply instead, like 650w. I already have 4 of those. whatever i put into the power supply, the power would come via the cable over to the 1500.

I plan on using 4  of the 7 pins on the trailer hitch so there would be separate 12v power available.

ideas?

sean
Sean
Littleton, CO Latest releases http://nutcracker123.com/nutcracker/releases xLights/Nutcracker Forum http://nutcracker123.com/forum/index.php Facebook [url=https://www.facebook.com/groups

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,929
  • Kudos: 76
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #1 on: July 19, 2013, 12:28:39 PM »
The operating temperature of Falcon boards is a good question. I can look into that. If Gary (pk) is watching I could use your help. I think the board inside of a CG-1500 case would generate heat that would raise temperature inside case, how much??? We are not using parts that are much different from any other controller.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline mms

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Lone Tree, Colo.
  • Posts: 282
  • Kudos: 2
    • Lone Tree Light Show on Facebook
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #2 on: July 19, 2013, 01:10:25 PM »
He always tells me that if you can spit on it and it sizzles it's too hot.  LOL.  Granted, I don't know how helpful that is here, but we're getting together tomorrow to get some stuff done for this year.  Maybe we can do some testing.  I'm sure he'll post something when he gets a chance.

Offline pk

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Arvada, COLORado
  • Posts: 151
  • Kudos: 1
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #3 on: July 19, 2013, 02:08:41 PM »
David - I will take a look at the temperature and let you know.  I board by itself will not create much heat. 

Here in CO we need to be concerned with the low temperature specs of the parts.  Some parts are rated for 0  to 70 degrees C operation (+32 to 158 degrees F).  As we all know it does get colder than 32 in Colorado in November and December.  These parts are typically used in commercial equipment that operated in a home/office environment.  There is also an industrial temperature range of (-40 to + 85 degrees C or -40 to +185 degrees F).

I seem to recall that early versions of the Lynx Express had problems operating at low temperatures and some changes were made.  I have noticed that all the parts use on DLA devices are rated from -40 to + 85 C.

Early in my career I worked for a semiconductor company.  There I learned that the same die (silicon chip inside an IC) is used in all of the temperature ranges so there is a good chance a commercial temperature range part works over the industrial temperature range... but it is not guaranteed to work!!!

Sean - My concern would be the size of the wire in the connector and the current delivered by the supply.  Those 350 W supplies from way can deliver 29 amps!!  You said you are planning on using 4 wires.  Is that for 1 or 2 supplies?  I am sure you have noticed there are 3 screw terminals for the +12V and 3 terminals for ground.  I suspect that was done intentionally for current sharing.

Some computer power supplies regulate one voltage and the others track that one.  Just a word of caution... if you only use the 12VDC from a computer supply, it may not stay in regulation.  The Active and Passive hubs have a 100 ohm resistor connected to the 5V supply of the computer power supply which I suspect is to keep the supply running and regulating. Not sure about the supplies you are using.

The power input connectors on the Falcon 16 (F16) board are rated at 30 amps.

Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #4 on: July 19, 2013, 02:23:40 PM »
Don't forget July 4th shows in Texas... :)

A cool day is 110 degrees...  cool if you are in the A/C.
http://WinterLightShow.com  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,929
  • Kudos: 76
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #5 on: July 19, 2013, 02:26:11 PM »
All chips are rated at -40C or less. So I think for coldness we are good. I will look into the heat for the Texas guys.

Offline pk

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Arvada, COLORado
  • Posts: 151
  • Kudos: 1
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #6 on: July 19, 2013, 03:55:06 PM »
Max operating temperatue of the chips is 185 degrees F  It should work in TX in the summer

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,929
  • Kudos: 76
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #7 on: July 19, 2013, 03:57:48 PM »
Max operating temperatue of the chips is 185 degrees F  It should work in TX in the summer

Thanks Gary for the information. Its nice to have a PCB specialists in the forum.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2013, 04:17:24 PM »
I've never seen it get above 170 here (the hot side of Fort Worth). I'm good.

isellgum

  • Guest
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2013, 05:02:23 PM »
I work at a computer store and deal with lots of heat issues.  It may be only 100 outside but if a circuit is in an enclosed box it is going to make it's own heat from operation.  A car in summer can get up to 130 with no heat sources other than sun.  I could see where the triacs could boost the temp inside a box into malfunctioning levels if it can only withstand 180 degrees.

Offline pk

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Arvada, COLORado
  • Posts: 151
  • Kudos: 1
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #10 on: July 20, 2013, 07:20:31 AM »
isellgum is correct.  There will be a temperature rise due to self-heating.  Now... if your guys in TX would like, I am sure some of us in CO would be glad to sell you a box of our frigid air with reduced oxygen content!!  : )

Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #11 on: July 20, 2013, 08:07:37 AM »
it's sad to think I may need to have a fan to bring in HOT air from outside to cool off the contents. :)

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #12 on: July 20, 2013, 09:53:20 AM »
according to http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Climate_of_Houston, average temperature is 62 day, 43F night. You are talking about Christmas time?


Denver averages in December are 46F for a high and 16F for a low.

Now we could be in Minnesota where avg high is 27F, low is 12F http://www.weather.com/weather/wxclimatology/monthly/graph/USMN0503


i think the falcon sealed up should do ok in denver's weather

Offline Nightowlz1966

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Location: Sharpsburg Georgia
  • Posts: 121
  • Kudos: 0
    • Christmas On The Creek
Re: How to bring power to falcon boards
« Reply #13 on: August 04, 2013, 04:04:24 PM »
I hate to sound crazy be WE are talking about LIGHT shows that happen after the sun goes down :-)
So why are we worried about the sun heating the box's and the contents  LOL

Brian Flanders
Sharpsburg Ga. http://christmasonthecreek.com http://www.facebook.com/ChristmasOnTheCreek I Thought I Had More Extension Cords

 

Back to top