Author Topic: Ras Clock  (Read 3165 times)

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #15 on: September 03, 2014, 06:52:39 PM »
Ok I ordered this one, http://store.acmeun.com/products/rasclock-raspberry-pi-real-time-clock-module.html
Sorry for all the questions,
Do you know if the cases made for the B+ will accommodate the clock module or should I search for a specific case that will?
thanks\Ken

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #16 on: September 13, 2014, 08:56:38 PM »
I inserted the battery into its place on the clock board. Exactly which pins do the Ras Clock mount on?

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NW Montana
  • Posts: 1,428
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #17 on: September 13, 2014, 10:20:58 PM »
Pin 1 and board covers the pi and does not stick out

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk


Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #18 on: September 13, 2014, 10:53:39 PM »
Ok, thanks,

Hopefully tomorrow I can set the Pi up to run the controller.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,856
  • Kudos: 214
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #19 on: September 13, 2014, 11:53:13 PM »
We should get a close up pic of this on our wiki and potentially a FAQ entry, this comes up often.
-
Chris

Offline jchuchla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 355
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #20 on: September 15, 2014, 03:57:35 PM »
Not to hijack. But it's related. Can you use the clock and LCD display at the same time? If so, how do I get both on the same header?


--Jon Chuchla--

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline 11Bravo

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location: SE Tex
  • Posts: 53
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #21 on: September 15, 2014, 07:47:54 PM »

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,237
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #22 on: September 15, 2014, 08:23:08 PM »
Not to hijack. But it's related. Can you use the clock and LCD display at the same time? If so, how do I get both on the same header?


--Jon Chuchla--

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
It would be tall, but if you assemble the LCD display with extra long pins coming up from the socket, the Rasclock could mount there.

Offline jchuchla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 355
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #23 on: September 16, 2014, 05:46:24 PM »
My clocks just showed up. And in true Chinese fashion, there's no indication how to connect this thing. It has a 5 pin female header with a DS3231 on one side and a battery on the other. Mine does not look like the one in the pic above.
Any clues




-- Jon Chuchla --

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Offline bagley2000

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location: Omaha Neb
  • Posts: 46
  • Kudos: 0
    • New Wave Powder Coating
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #24 on: September 16, 2014, 05:59:32 PM »
Take the black header off and solder long pins in that is how i did mine

[attachment deleted by admin]
Bad or missing keyboard. Press F1 to continue
 

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,856
  • Kudos: 214
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #25 on: September 16, 2014, 08:40:44 PM »
My clocks just showed up. And in true Chinese fashion, there's no indication how to connect this thing. It has a 5 pin female header with a DS3231 on one side and a battery on the other. Mine does not look like the one in the pic above.
Any clues

This ebay ad shows a picture of one connected:

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Raspberry-Pi-High-Precision-Real-Time-Clock-Module-DS3231-/181339999977?_trksid=p2054897.l5665

That would put it on the following pins:

3.3V
SDA
SDL
GPIO #4
GND

That makes more sense than putting it on the other row of pins which would include the 5V line, two grounds, and the serial port.

Offline jchuchla

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 355
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Ras Clock
« Reply #26 on: September 16, 2014, 08:43:30 PM »
That would have been my guess. I'm thinking of removing the pins and soldering it to the headers of the lcd plate underneath it. Those headers have two sets of spacers on them, so this should fit in place of the spacers on those pins.


-- Jon Chuchla --

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

 

Back to top