Author Topic: Random trash data outputted  (Read 23610 times)

Offline sielbear

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 104
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Random trash data outputted
« Reply #180 on: October 30, 2015, 08:36:16 PM »
What ever became of this topic?  I had the trash data being sent last year.  I see where some testing was going to be performed in this thread, but then nothing.

Sorry if this is covered elsewhere.  Trying to get caught up on things.  :)

Offline MrChristmas2000

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 481
  • Kudos: 4
Re: Random trash data outputted
« Reply #181 on: October 31, 2015, 04:45:21 AM »
This has been solved with the Falcon 16 V2. It is working great on my Halloween display with no glitches at all.

This thread therefore has become a mute subject. Three cheers for David and the F16v2.


Offline sielbear

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 104
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Random trash data outputted
« Reply #182 on: October 31, 2015, 08:15:43 AM »
Is there any type of conversion process for f16 v1 boards?  Because I have a bunch of v1...

Offline MrChristmas2000

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 481
  • Kudos: 4
Re: Random trash data outputted
« Reply #183 on: October 31, 2015, 09:21:20 AM »
No the V2 is a total redesign. They now use E1.31 as the input line with 4 definable output jacks. It can also support an expansion board giving you up to 32channels controlling around 300 pixels per channel, or somewhere around 600 channels if in the 16 channel configuration. And many more features as well. I will be driving my F16v1 for my mega tree from one of the F16V2s that run my mega grid.

Offline t.jo13

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 186
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Random trash data outputted
« Reply #184 on: October 31, 2015, 07:05:49 PM »
No the V2 is a total redesign. They now use E1.31 as the input line with 4 definable output jacks. It can also support an expansion board giving you up to 32channels controlling around 300 pixels per channel, or somewhere around 600 channels if in the 16 channel configuration. And many more features as well. I will be driving my F16v1 for my mega tree from one of the F16V2s that run my mega grid.
[/quote

What would be the advantage using the v2 instead of the fpd?  I have both, and am using the v2 for testing display items and was planning on putting v2 to use in the show  next year but you opened my eyes to an additional  option.

Joe

Offline MrChristmas2000

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 481
  • Kudos: 4
Re: Random trash data outputted
« Reply #185 on: October 31, 2015, 08:01:31 PM »
Simple, its is easier to run ethernet to a cheap switch in the yard then distribute the Ethernet (E1.31) to the Falcon 16v2 from there. The V2 will then be the source point for any DMX and Pixelnet needed in that particular part of the yard. My mega matrix uses 3 universes of Pixelnet that is not having to be carried over the pixelnet network because the V2 handles all the addressing for it.

Offline t.jo13

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 186
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Random trash data outputted
« Reply #186 on: October 31, 2015, 08:41:39 PM »
Interesting.....  Thankyou for the information

Joe

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,259
  • Kudos: 182
Re: Random trash data outputted
« Reply #187 on: October 31, 2015, 09:56:09 PM »
I have a FPD now, but haven't been able to reproduce the issue myself to look into it much, but I have a lot more hardware to test with now.  This summer I got a couple thousand pixels and a couple F16 v1 boards and am about 75% done with making new window frames and house trim, so I will have lots of test material to see if I can reproduce the issue.
-
Chris

Offline MrChristmas2000

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 481
  • Kudos: 4
Re: Random trash data outputted
« Reply #188 on: November 01, 2015, 06:52:40 AM »
Just FYI. The DMX issue was primarily with the Lynx SSR4DMX units. It didn't seem to matter whether the DMX was direct off the FPD or the DMX off of a Falcon Smart Hub.

The V2 seems to have fixed what ever issue with the SSR4DMX usnits exsisted.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,259
  • Kudos: 182
Re: Random trash data outputted
« Reply #189 on: November 01, 2015, 08:29:13 AM »
Ok, thanks, I might be able to borrow one of those from Ryan down the street.

 

Back to top