Author Topic: Network configuration question  (Read 1302 times)

Offline danj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 304
  • Kudos: 1
Network configuration question
« on: November 02, 2014, 09:18:06 PM »
I have a really basic lighting network configuration question.   I used a laptop using LOR and an LOR CTBPC16 and an E682 last year.  This year, I am planning to use an FPP, two DLA active hubs, and an FPD driving Corey's microcontrollers.  I also plan to run 26 DMX AC channels, so I will also have to have a DMX output going out to two Renard controllers.  I have dug around tonight on the Falcon forums looking for some setup discussions but haven't been able to find any basic network layout drawings.  I am pretty sure I have all the piece-parts I need; I would like to have a big picture schematic showing the setup.  Can anyone help here???   Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: November 05, 2014, 05:24:40 PM by danj »

Offline rdebolt

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Boise, ID
  • Posts: 554
  • Kudos: 3
    • Christmas in Boise
Re: Network configuration question
« Reply #1 on: November 03, 2014, 07:34:11 PM »
Danji not sure what a PPF is. I am assuming that you are talikng FPP so that is what I am going to base this on. You could easily do what you want as follows
FPP-FPD-Active hub Then from Active hub you have your DMX output and your control for the micro contollers. Of couse there are more that one way to skin a cat, but that is 1 way. Is that what you are asking?


Roger

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,800
  • Kudos: 209
Re: Network configuration question
« Reply #2 on: November 03, 2014, 07:44:40 PM »
I will try to throw together a diagram showing the output and input types and a few other things supported by FPP.
-
Chris

Offline mkozik1

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Monroe, GA
  • Posts: 99
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Network configuration question
« Reply #3 on: November 04, 2014, 07:42:16 PM »
You can also get DMX out of the 682 if you can't get it from the Active Hubs.
- Mark

Offline danj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 304
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Network configuration question
« Reply #4 on: November 05, 2014, 05:24:18 PM »
Doh.   Yes I meant FPP....    Thanks for the responses.  I would LOVE to see a schematic!

One followup question now that I am thinking about it--am I right in thinking driving DMX into Renard?  Or is there a "Renard protocol"?
Thanks yet again.

Offline Livermore-Dad

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Location: Livermore, CA
  • Posts: 483
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Network configuration question
« Reply #5 on: November 05, 2014, 05:32:16 PM »
Doh.   Yes I meant FPP....    Thanks for the responses.  I would LOVE to see a schematic!

One followup question now that I am thinking about it--am I right in thinking driving DMX into Renard?  Or is there a "Renard protocol"?
Thanks yet again.

Answer to your question is "yes" just depends on the PIC programming you choose. The Renard can do both DMX or Renard..

http://www.doityourselfchristmas.com/wiki/index.php?title=Renard_Firmware
I know some stuff. For example i know I don't know anything.
 

Offline danj

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 304
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Network configuration question
« Reply #6 on: November 05, 2014, 05:56:09 PM »
Thanks very much.   I have a lot to learn between now & Thanksgiving.  It will be challenging but fun.

 

Back to top