Author Topic: Dongle Question  (Read 4468 times)

Offline Pookie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2
  • Kudos: 0
Dongle Question
« on: November 20, 2014, 08:58:22 PM »
So I just finished building my board and works and everything. I have a USB RJ45 Serial Adapter I got from lightorama a few years ago. First question and it may be stupid but would this work. I am not using Pi player and am going to run in lightorama this year. if that wont work what would dongle would I need to run my controller. Sorry if this isn't making a ton of sense I am very to to RGB/Falcon

[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,929
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2014, 10:49:35 PM »
Just to help clarify, he is wanting to run a Falcon 16 with Pixelnet. He only has the LOR dongle. If that does not have ability to drive Pixelnet (most likely not) what is a good USB-RS 485 adapter he can use?
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2014, 10:56:12 PM »
The DIYLightanimation site sells the original Pixelnet dongle, but you have to solder it up yourself.

Or, I have tested a cheaper RS485 dongle sold on Amazon. When connected to the FPP, I did successful control my 40x30 Matrix connected to an F16.

It already puts the transmit output on Pins 1 and 2.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008BZBJ92/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A1AQJTRN2131MJ

(and it is true FTDI )

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,800
  • Kudos: 209
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #3 on: November 20, 2014, 10:59:38 PM »

Just to help clarify, he is wanting to run a Falcon 16 with Pixelnet. He only has the LOR dongle. If that does not have ability to drive Pixelnet (most likely not) what is a good USB-RS 485 adapter he can use?

Does LOR support PixelNet?  He says he wants to use LOR for playback instead of FPP for this year.
-
Chris

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,929
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #4 on: November 20, 2014, 11:03:52 PM »

Just to help clarify, he is wanting to run a Falcon 16 with Pixelnet. He only has the LOR dongle. If that does not have ability to drive Pixelnet (most likely not) what is a good USB-RS 485 adapter he can use?

Does LOR support PixelNet?  He says he wants to use LOR for playback instead of FPP for this year.

No they do not.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,800
  • Kudos: 209
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #5 on: November 20, 2014, 11:08:19 PM »
So when does your LOR protocol firmware come out for the F16?  :)

So if he wants PixelNet that means a different non-Pi player and the official DLA PixelNet hub or EtherDongle or he switches to FPP with one of those or a dongle compatible with the 'PixelNet Open' output in FPP like the one Jon linked. 

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,929
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #6 on: November 20, 2014, 11:37:30 PM »
Maybe support their new protocol that comes out. If it supports thousands of channels and not hundreds.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,800
  • Kudos: 209
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #7 on: November 21, 2014, 01:05:13 AM »
''twas definitely a joke...  :)  I won't even try to imagine driving a pixel tree with a couple thousand pixels with the current LOR protocol.

Offline Pookie

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #8 on: November 21, 2014, 06:17:59 PM »
No LOR can not do pixlenet and I had planned to run the RGB on xlights for this year to kinda limp through this year.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,800
  • Kudos: 209
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #9 on: November 21, 2014, 07:43:59 PM »

It should be easy to add the same 'PixelNet open' support to xLights to allow using the low-cost FTDI dongles, I will try  to take a look at that tonight.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,800
  • Kudos: 209
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #10 on: November 22, 2014, 01:07:10 AM »

It should be easy to add the same 'PixelNet open' support to xLights to allow using the low-cost FTDI dongles, I will try  to take a look at that tonight.

I pushed a commit to xLights to add support for these generic FTDI-chipset USB to RS485 dongles.  I have only been able to test it under Linux, but I checked the code and believe it should work on Windows fine because it is similar to the OpenDMX support which also uses a custom serial rate.  It is in the master code branch so it will be in future 3.6.x releases, but not in 3.5.x releases.

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #11 on: November 22, 2014, 04:34:20 PM »
Release 3.6.6 has capt murdoch's code, it was released today
Sean
Littleton, CO Latest releases http://nutcracker123.com/nutcracker/releases xLights/Nutcracker Forum http://nutcracker123.com/forum/index.php Facebook [url=https://www.facebook.com/groups

Offline deacon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Carlsbad, CA.
  • Posts: 49
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #12 on: November 29, 2015, 10:46:13 AM »
The DIYLightanimation site sells the original Pixelnet dongle, but you have to solder it up yourself.

Or, I have tested a cheaper RS485 dongle sold on Amazon. When connected to the FPP, I did successful control my 40x30 Matrix connected to an F16.

It already puts the transmit output on Pins 1 and 2.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B008BZBJ92/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=A1AQJTRN2131MJ

(and it is true FTDI )

I know this is a super old topic but I'm trying to figure out a way to connect FPP to a F8 controller and was wondering if this still works to hook them up.  Want to control 340 12v 2811 pixels for a matrix.
« Last Edit: November 29, 2015, 10:55:03 AM by deacon »

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #13 on: November 29, 2015, 12:04:05 PM »
Yes, it will work.
It is an "open pixelnet" and will output 4096 channels on the Cat5 cable you connect.

Offline deacon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Carlsbad, CA.
  • Posts: 49
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Dongle Question
« Reply #14 on: November 29, 2015, 03:27:41 PM »
Yes, it will work.
It is an "open pixelnet" and will output 4096 channels on the Cat5 cable you connect.

Thank you Jon, much appreciated!

 

Back to top