Author Topic: Help I'm now addicted to Christmas lights!  (Read 3808 times)

Offline silverzpeed

• Kudos: 0
Help I'm now addicted to Christmas lights!
« on: December 09, 2014, 05:49:27 PM »
So this is my first year using any sort of automation and control over my lights. I will be making the switch tomorrow evening to the FPP setup that I have been working on for the past couple of days. Right now out front i have a arduino uno controlling a sainsmart 8 channel ssr hooked into vixen 3. I have learned alot the last couple of days about FPP and its capabilities, so now i have some questions. Next year for sure I am going to start purchasing pixels and I want to start working with them a little. Any thoughts on where to begin for a NOOB? Second, How can the FPP be hooked into multiple FPPs to control a whole show, or is that not possible? Third, this website is a wealth of knowledge and there are some great folks on here doing some awesome things, but is there a user manual for FPP with a breakdown of the features and what some of the stuff means in the GUI? Thanks everyone for all the support.

Brandon
2014: First Year With Falcon Pi Player. 2600 Lights, 3 Sequences on 8 Channels.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

• Administrator
  • Kudos: 214
Re: Help I'm now addicted to Christmas lights!
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2014, 07:39:07 PM »
One FPP instance can control up to 64k channels easily.  If your channel output type doesn't allow that many channels then you can connect as many Pi's together as you want on a network and have then all operate in sync using FPP's MultiSync capability.  MultiSync can sync playback of sequences and video files on multiple Pi's.

We don't currently have a manual, but do have some videos as well Asa lot of help pages in the UI.  I am getting more and more help pages added as I go through screens.
-
Chris

Offline jnealand

• Developer
  • Kudos: 68
« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2014, 07:40:36 PM »