Author Topic: LED technicolor pixel support  (Read 4472 times)

Offline Michael

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 113
  • Kudos: 0

Offline RichM

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Colorado Springs, CO
  • Posts: 307
  • Kudos: 0
Re: LED technicolor pixel support
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2013, 10:34:41 PM »
The Falcon-16 controller is compatible with the 12v WS2811 chips.

edit: I want to apologize for this post.  It was late and I rushed it.  the post should read like this:

Hi, and welcome to the forum. ;D  We are a small group but are growing quickly.  I am currently using the 12v-WS2811 flexstrip.

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/5m-led-digital-strip-DC12V-input-WS2811IC-256-scale-10pcs-IC-and-30pcs-5050-SMD-RGB/701799_568458133.html

This is the same chip that your string is using.  When you are setting up the Falcon controller with the software, you select what type of string (ie. 18xx or 2811) and the number of nodes the string has.
By the way, that is a really nice product you are looking at.  It looks well thought out and constructed.  I would like to pick one up as well.  To keep the waterproof rating, you will want to pick up the 3 pin plug that connects to that string.  You then attach the 3 pin plug to the Falcon controller.

Rich
« Last Edit: May 28, 2013, 10:52:13 AM by RichM »

Offline davron12

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 45
  • Kudos: 0
Re: LED technicolor pixel support
« Reply #2 on: May 28, 2013, 07:50:20 AM »
Supposedly they're very nice. I can't wait to buy some.

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: LED technicolor pixel support
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2013, 11:18:55 PM »
Any idea if these new strings are supported?  They look great. 

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/100nodes-DC12V-WS2811-LED-technicolor-pixel/701799_922162404.html

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/TechnicolorChristmas

I received a five pixel sample string of the 12V Technicolor pixels from Zach at the Academy.  I have just verified that they work with Falcon16 board. I just ran the board in test mode and all the lights worked as expected.

Very important note: If you are used to wiring up pigtails Yellow = 12V , Blue = Ground , Brown = Data like me. This method was adopted to match the original red=12V, green=GND, blue=data pigtails we used the first year before the colors switched to yellow, blue, brown.  The technicolor pixels are different. Please see this link. https://www.facebook.com/TechnicolorChristmas

The  brown = 12V, blue = ground, yellow = data.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline RichM

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Colorado Springs, CO
  • Posts: 307
  • Kudos: 0
Re: LED technicolor pixel support
« Reply #4 on: August 05, 2013, 11:44:05 PM »
I made a cross over cable for my Technicolor lights so I can plug them into any of my falcon-16 outputs.   

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,237
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: LED technicolor pixel support (Pinout Picture)
« Reply #5 on: August 06, 2013, 04:45:44 AM »
Sad commentary to be posting Pinout Charts instead of Pinup Posters. End of an era.

Here is their page from Facebook. I left their logo on for Copyright purposes.



[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: LED technicolor pixel support
« Reply #6 on: August 06, 2013, 07:00:18 AM »
The  brown = 12V, blue = ground, yellow = data.
Thank you!! 

When I receive my WS2811 and TM1804 Technicolor strings from Ray, I'll verify that he used the same wiring.
http://WinterLightShow.com  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: LED technicolor pixel support
« Reply #7 on: August 06, 2013, 09:52:02 AM »
The  brown = 12V, blue = ground, yellow = data.
Thank you!! 

When I receive my WS2811 and TM1804 Technicolor strings from Ray, I'll verify that he used the same wiring.

I believe the ones I got from Zach are the ones from Ray. The pigtails have all black UV wires. No colors at all. I was just mentioning colors so you would no how to connect to existing pigtails.

Offline rdebolt

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Boise, ID
  • Posts: 554
  • Kudos: 3
    • Christmas in Boise
Re: LED technicolor pixel support
« Reply #8 on: August 06, 2013, 11:53:26 AM »
Forgive the crudeness of my drawing, but I believe that this is the wire placement for the Technicolor node. Since there is no colors, this might be a good reference. Some please correct me if I am wrong

[attachment deleted by admin]
« Last Edit: August 06, 2013, 11:56:19 AM by rdebolt »

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: LED technicolor pixel support
« Reply #9 on: August 06, 2013, 12:32:31 PM »
Roger,

I thought the wiring difference may have been the problem with the Zeus and SSC 4 test you made. But it seems you did wire them correctly.

Offline rdebolt

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Boise, ID
  • Posts: 554
  • Kudos: 3
    • Christmas in Boise
Re: LED technicolor pixel support
« Reply #10 on: August 06, 2013, 01:40:58 PM »
Roger,

I thought the wiring difference may have been the problem with the Zeus and SSC 4 test you made. But it seems you did wire them correctly.


In all honesty I figured that I had nothing to loose (except a pic and I had back up) so I tried every combination after that one did not work. Strangely enough I did not hurt the ssc at all, the nodes I'm not sure about since I have nothing to drive them at this time.

 

Back to top