Author Topic: PICkit 3 should I buy to replace PICkit 2  (Read 2633 times)

Offline tombmatt

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 193
  • Kudos: 0
PICkit 3 should I buy to replace PICkit 2
« on: January 05, 2015, 06:23:37 PM »
have pickit2 but have seen lots of post of using pickit3, do I need to upgrade???? found a article trade in your pickit2 for 50% off a pickit3? "http://www.microchip.com/pagehandler/en-us/promo/legacymigration/" but have also seen a post where if was not a good idea. here is the youtube page "EEVblog Electronics Community Forum " of a guy from EEVblog Electronics Community Forum lambasting the PICkit3. whats your opinion?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,297
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: PICkit 3 should I buy to replace PICkit 2
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2015, 06:36:30 PM »
The PICkit 3 is different, granted.

But - the PICs being used on Falcon and DLA equipment require it. Personally, I'd keep the PICkit 2 but get a 3 when you can.

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,947
  • Kudos: 68
Re: PICkit 3 should I buy to replace PICkit 2
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2015, 07:40:57 PM »
+1  I have both and use both.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline rdebolt

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Boise, ID
  • Posts: 554
  • Kudos: 3
    • Christmas in Boise
Re: PICkit 3 should I buy to replace PICkit 2
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2015, 07:04:32 PM »
+2 I use them both as well.


Roger

Offline JerryPlak

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Sunbury, OH
  • Posts: 608
  • Kudos: 2
Re: PICkit 3 should I buy to replace PICkit 2
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2015, 08:37:29 PM »
+3 also use them both as well.
Jerry Plak

Offline corey872

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 490
  • Kudos: 16
    • Link to the sale...
Re: PICkit 3 should I buy to replace PICkit 2
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2015, 08:52:41 PM »
I'm far from a PIC guru - so somebody feel free to point out if this is wrong:

I only have the PICKit 3 - I have never found any Christmas hardware I could not program with it ...DLA hubs, Falcon F16 hubs, DLA SSC V1-4, Etherdongle, USB Dongle, uSC V1 and the soon to be produced uSC V2 all program with PK3 running the MPLab software.  So I would say I don't really have a need for a PK2.

Conversely, I think the PK2 would interface and program all those just as well, too.  So unless your '2 is somehow going bad, I don't know that there is much benefit to an upgrade.  Though again, maybe someone with more knowledge can point to benefits.
 
Corey
 2018 uSC, Afterburner, uAmp co-op - pending May-June 2018.  Remaining boards are now FOR SALE

Offline toozie21

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location: MD
  • Posts: 453
  • Kudos: 0
    • My website
Re: PICkit 3 should I buy to replace PICkit 2
« Reply #6 on: January 12, 2015, 06:16:30 AM »
I don't have a PK2, but I just picked up a clone PK3 on eBay from the West Coast for $35 shipped and have been pretty happy with it (i haven't put it much through its paces yet though). Might be a good compromise to get a PK3 at a cheaper price.

Short and badly typed since written from my phone...


Offline tbone321

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,589
  • Kudos: 50
Re: PICkit 3 should I buy to replace PICkit 2
« Reply #7 on: February 09, 2015, 07:13:26 PM »
If you have the Pickit-2, then by all means KEEP IT.  The Pickit-2 is a PIC programmer while the Pickit-3 is really more of low cost debugger with programming capability.  The reason why people are buying the Pickit-3 is that the Pickit-2 is not able to program the 32 bit and up PIC's such as the one used in the DLA ETD and the Pickit-3 can.  The Pickit-2 is a solid PIC programmer and just works without issue on the older PIC's where the Pickit-3 can have some issues, especially with the PIC programming software written for it.

 

Back to top