Author Topic: Amps over cat5  (Read 779 times)

Offline Jeffl

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location: Brandon, SD
  • Posts: 519
  • Kudos: 4
  • Just remember. Wireless is nice. Copper is king!
    • Christmas In Brandon
Amps over cat5
« on: February 01, 2015, 12:28:00 PM »
Based on the calculators I have tried, they are basically are saying with 100 nodes (4.5amp) that you can get about 5' with 3 stands of 24awg wire.  What am I missing here?   ???

Offline arw01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 891
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Amps over cat5
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2015, 01:33:04 PM »
I've run 128 nodes of flex strip with a single cat 5 that has 2 wires for data and the other 6 are wound into two "pairs" to bring power.  I need power injection at the other end to not have pink about 2/3'rds of the string.

Alan

 

Back to top