Author Topic: Help programming SSC  (Read 2218 times)

Offline dgreen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 72
  • Kudos: 0
Help programming SSC
« on: September 11, 2013, 05:34:23 PM »
Hey guys,
I am having trouble programming my SSCs V3 with Davids firmware.
it is something I am doing wrong because they are working with the DILA firmware.
Here is how I am programming.
1.   I connect my pickit 3 to the computer and then to the SSC, the program jumper is on
2.   Then I open up MPLAB
3.   I choose configure/select device
4.   Then on the dropdown I choose PIC24FJ32GA002 and click ok
5.   Then I select programmer/select programmer/pickit3. It reads the device with no errors.
6.   Then I choose file/import and browse to the hex in the downloads section.
7.   Then I click program. It completes with no errors
8.   Now I disconnect the pickit3 programmer and hook up a string of lights.
9.   I now open up the smart string grouping program I downloaded here (jumper is still on)
10.   I type a description, put in a new start channel, set the node count, leave device as string.
11.   Finally I click program all SSC on hub and click program. Then close the program.
12.   Now I open Xlights and test. I get nothing, cant get the lights to come on.
13.   If I remove the jumper on the SSC then they all turn on white and I have no control
Any ideas what I am doing wrong?
Like I said, this works with the other firmware so it is something I am doing.
Thanks.

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,929
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Help programming SSC
« Reply #1 on: September 11, 2013, 06:03:28 PM »
With SSCv3 jumper will always be off. It will never be on.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline dgreen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 72
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Help programming SSC
« Reply #2 on: September 11, 2013, 06:08:20 PM »
ok, i dont know why i thought it had to be on.
So i remove the jumper and reran the smart string grouping program just as i did before.
Then i open Xlights and click on test/all channels and output to lights.
as soon as i click output to lights they all turn on white.
Thanks

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,929
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Help programming SSC
« Reply #3 on: September 11, 2013, 06:49:55 PM »
ok, i dont know why i thought it had to be on.
So i remove the jumper and reran the smart string grouping program just as i did before.
Then i open Xlights and click on test/all channels and output to lights.
as soon as i click output to lights they all turn on white.
Thanks

When you do the programming with Smartstring Grouping the string should turn Rainbow color when it programs successfully. Did you see this.

Offline dgreen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 72
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Help programming SSC
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2013, 06:56:49 PM »
No, the lights never come on when programming.
Does that mean the .hex didnt take?

Offline mms

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Lone Tree, Colo.
  • Posts: 282
  • Kudos: 2
    • Lone Tree Light Show on Facebook
Re: Help programming SSC
« Reply #5 on: September 12, 2013, 06:49:45 AM »
Did you happen to program the string for hybrid mode?  In my experience, if the lights are going all white on a test all that's usually what the case is.  Unselect the hybrid channels and try a chase. 

Also, did you "power cycle" the SSC after you programmed it?

Otherwise it looks like you did everything correctly.

Offline JerryPlak

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Sunbury, OH
  • Posts: 598
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Help programming SSC
« Reply #6 on: September 12, 2013, 08:37:31 AM »
for  dgreen,
After reading list on #10. I type a description, put in a new start channel, set the node count, leave device as string,
On my setting up I end up using Flexible strip (DLA 1809)  for the device type:

I found the same thing that the SSC all turn on white.. so I re program my SSC using Flexible strip (DLA 1809)  for the device type:
now got Rainbow color when it programs successfully ;D
Jerry Plak

Offline Kevin

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Colorado Springs, CO
  • Posts: 95
  • Kudos: 0
    • Colorado Christmas
Re: Help programming SSC
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2013, 09:02:26 AM »
Do not use the MPLAB IDE program.  Use the PICKit 3 version 1 stand alone program to flash the firmware on SSCs, Etherdongle, and all Falcon products. here is a link to it:

http://favstar.fm/users/MicrochipTech/status/61119098477740032


Kevin
-------------------------
Kevin
Colorado Christmas

Offline dgreen

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 72
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Help programming SSC
« Reply #8 on: September 12, 2013, 05:16:19 PM »
Thanks guys, that fixed it!!!
I guess it was in the programming of the .hex file.
it works now even when set to string.
Thanks again.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Help programming SSC
« Reply #9 on: September 12, 2013, 08:14:55 PM »
Has anyone ever looked at why MPLAB does not program PICs properly?
I've heard to not use it for years, but I don't know PIC programming well enough to tell anything about why it fails.

 

Back to top