Author Topic: Following the instructions for BBB setup in the Wiki  (Read 4626 times)

Offline patdelaney

• Administrator
  • Kudos: 9
Re: Following the instructions for BBB setup in the Wiki
« Reply #15 on: June 02, 2015, 06:41:09 PM »
I have seen this error before, but I never attributed it wrong time on the BBB. I saw it on a stock linux system that I was testing the wget command. When I tried on BBB I did not get the error.

Offline rattataz

• Kudos: 0
« Reply #16 on: June 02, 2015, 08:27:54 PM »
Connecting to a NTP server did the trick. It's doing it's thing now.

Goes to show you how much I know. I didn't know that you had to set the time that way.

I think most of my frustration is from being unfamiliar with the hardware & software. I've never used linux before & seems foreign to me especially navigating the file stucture. I don't program either so seeing all these lines of code is a little intimidating. I worry about screwing something up. I'm just copy & paste lines & pray they work.

Getting the BBB on the internet should be easy if you boot it on a network with functioning DHCP.  It should setup DNS and the route, etc..  What issues did you run into?

I still can't get the HDMI to work sort of. It worked at my sons place but when I tried it at home nada, except twice when I was shutting it down it appeared on screen but was gone after reboot. Connecting to the internet has been a bit of a challenge. I think it's because I'm connected to my laptop via USB & trying to share the connection. Laptop is on wifi. The solution I found online is not persistant though so each time I reboot I've got to do it over.

I'm sure this will get easier as I play with it, but still is a bit of a struggle.

Offline patdelaney

• Administrator
  • Kudos: 9
« Reply #17 on: June 03, 2015, 05:57:59 AM »
If you have already installed FPP on BBB hardware, then there is no HDMI by default.

Pat

Offline CaptainMurdoch

• Administrator
  • Kudos: 214