Author Topic: power supplies  (Read 3911 times)

Offline FireMedic4Christ

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Brighton, CO
  • Posts: 252
  • Kudos: 1
power supplies
« on: September 13, 2013, 11:08:09 AM »
I heard talk at the Denver get together of a small board that would allow us to get power from an atx power supply. Did that come to fruition?

Just in case that is not correct, can someone recommend a power supply that will fit in the cg-1500 case?


Brian
Brian

Offline mms

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Lone Tree, Colo.
  • Posts: 282
  • Kudos: 2
    • Lone Tree Light Show on Facebook
Re: power supplies
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2013, 12:15:58 PM »
We got some of these (both in 5V and 12V) from Ray Wu.

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/350W-Dual-Output-Switching-Power-Supply-88-264VAC-input-12V-350W-output-CE-and-ROHS-approved/701799_289599951.html

Sean had the power supply mounted to the inside of the lid of the box with some thin plywood.  I know I've seen pictures somewhere with 2 supplies in the lid.  It was this site!  LOL.  http://falconchristmas.com/shop/index.php?


Offline MrChristmas2000

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 481
  • Kudos: 4
Re: power supplies
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2013, 01:54:10 PM »
I believe David is working on that product now.

I am not sure I would want to mount 2 of Rays supplies in a 1500 box with the Falcon 16. I did some testing on a grid and the supplies do get fairly warm and runs the fans a lot when all pixels are turned on. Not sure there would be enough airflow in a 1500 case.


Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,883
  • Kudos: 67
Re: power supplies
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2013, 02:23:07 PM »
Remember it is 0-30 F outside.

Maybe where you live, but not all of us are in the Rockies.  I'll be putting my lights up in a t-shirt.  I always wanted to move to a warmer location and when I got the chance I took it.  Anymore, I don't even visit relatives up north in the winter.  LOL
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline dandameron

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 64
  • Kudos: 0
Re: power supplies
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2013, 08:35:26 PM »
These are GREAT supplies for the Falcon boards... I got 4 of them for $5/ea...

They are rated at 12V/41 amps...

You need to jumper a couple of pins to turn on the 12V... Easy...

Dan

http://www.ebay.com/itm/261125448364?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1497.l2649

Offline Frankr

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Rocklin, CA
  • Posts: 268
  • Kudos: 0
    • Rocklin Lights
Re: power supplies
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2013, 10:22:58 AM »
How do you get the power out of those power supplies? Those connectors don't look very friendly...

Frank

Offline dandameron

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 64
  • Kudos: 0
Re: power supplies
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2013, 08:18:04 PM »
I'll take some pics and do a pinout drawing...

I just straitened the 4 large output pins and used the insulated female lugs like the ones that are used on a lot of the controllers...

Dan

Offline dandameron

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 64
  • Kudos: 0
Re: power supplies
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2013, 09:18:39 PM »
Here is a pic of the connection...


[attachment deleted by admin]

Offline Scottyj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 20
  • Kudos: 1
Re: power supplies
« Reply #9 on: September 15, 2013, 08:00:42 AM »
Hey Dan
what are the dimensions of the PS

Thanks
Scott

Offline dandameron

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 64
  • Kudos: 0
Re: power supplies
« Reply #10 on: September 15, 2013, 10:20:42 AM »
They are 14.5" long and 2.5" square... They just barely fit on an angle in the large black battery boxes (Walmart, etc.).

You can fit 2 of them along with the falcon board in one box w/room to spare...

Offline Scottyj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 20
  • Kudos: 1
Re: power supplies
« Reply #11 on: September 15, 2013, 11:58:26 AM »
Thanks Dan
May have to get a couple

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Castle Rock, CO
  • Posts: 364
  • Kudos: 8
    • RockinChristmas Facebook Page
Re: power supplies
« Reply #12 on: September 16, 2013, 09:55:13 AM »
They appear to be $20 for a pair, or $10 each ... not $5 anymore.

My only concern would be that they are used and they probably ran 24x7 in a datacenter environment ... so
they were probably high quality, but not sure the remaining lifespan, etc.

Offline dandameron

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2013
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 64
  • Kudos: 0
Re: power supplies
« Reply #13 on: September 16, 2013, 06:45:24 PM »
You have to watch for them... They seem to vary widely in price...

I know they have run continuously... But since they were server power supplies, they were built to run for a long time... Plus, they didn't go thru a lot of the on/off cycling that a lot of other supplies do...

Anyway, I've had good luck so far... Using 2, got 2 for backup :-) YMMV...

Dan

Offline FireMedic4Christ

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Brighton, CO
  • Posts: 252
  • Kudos: 1
Re: power supplies
« Reply #14 on: September 16, 2013, 08:38:43 PM »
We got some of these (both in 5V and 12V) from Ray Wu.

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/350W-Dual-Output-Switching-Power-Supply-88-264VAC-input-12V-350W-output-CE-and-ROHS-approved/701799_289599951.html

Sean had the power supply mounted to the inside of the lid of the box with some thin plywood.  I know I've seen pictures somewhere with 2 supplies in the lid.  It was this site!  LOL.  http://falconchristmas.com/shop/index.php?

That is exaxtly how I want to mount them. These two controllers will be mounted up on the second story under the eaves permanently and I don't think the battery box will work very well or pass the HOA test.

 

Back to top