Author Topic: Converting 4 CCR's to dmx  (Read 4024 times)

Offline rlemery

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location: Morganton,NC
  • Posts: 370
  • Kudos: 5
Converting 4 CCR's to dmx
« on: March 26, 2015, 12:43:48 PM »
I am going to run my show this year using nutcracker and ffp.
LOR just has to much lag time with hi channel counts.
I understand how to run my Ac boxes in dmx mode and how the controller id works for the starting address,
uni 1, unit id 01, channels 1 to 16.
Its the ccrs that I'm not sure of.  I know if I used uni 2 and set he ccr controller to 01 that everything should work on the first ribbon its the 2nd and 3rd ribbion I am unsure of. Since the controllers use multiples of 16 the next controller would be OB channel 161. Do I add blank channels to LOR so when converted channel 161 would be the dmx start channel. I really don't want to use a separate universe for each ribbon as that seems like a wast of resources. I already have about 40 universes running smart and dumb dmx rgb, 128 Lor ac channels and 4 ccr's.
728 lor channels
5492 pixels

Offline RichM

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Colorado Springs, CO
  • Posts: 307
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Converting 4 CCR's to dmx
« Reply #1 on: March 27, 2015, 05:41:26 PM »
Yes, you should be able to have 3 CCR's on one DMX universe.
CCR 1=unit ID 01 channels 1-150
CCR 2=unit ID 0B channels 161-310
CCR 3=unit ID 15 channels 321-470
You should not need to add blank channels to LOR.  When you convert a file in nutcracker from LOR, nutcracker will read the LOR xml file.  If you set your CCR to start at DMX channel 161, that is what nutcracker will transfer.
If you are trying to maximize each universe, you can even assign some of your dumb RGB props to fill in the spaces:
151-160= 3 RGB dumb pixels (9 channels).
311-320= 3 RGB dumb pixels (9 channels).
471-512= 14 RGB pixels here (42 channels) or 2 LOR boxes assigned unit ID 1F channel 481-496 and unit ID 20 channel 497-512.

Sean - correct me if I'm not understanding the xlight/nutcracker conversion process.  I think I got this right.

Offline RichM

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Colorado Springs, CO
  • Posts: 307
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Converting 4 CCR's to dmx
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2015, 07:37:38 AM »
You probably already know this, but I'll put it out there for anyone following along.
When you want to send a LOR CCR (or CCB,CCP)controller a DMX signal you have to disable Macro effects on the controller.
You go into Hardware Utility and configure the controller.  Go to CCR/CCB configuration, under DMX Mode set to "RGB channels only" from the default "Both Macro and RGB channels".  Then click Update Unit.

Offline rlemery

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location: Morganton,NC
  • Posts: 370
  • Kudos: 5
Re: Converting 4 CCR's to dmx
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2015, 08:45:59 AM »
Thanks for answers. Time to start converting channels and get some sequences made. Going to be a fun year with xl4. Fpp and bbb for p10 matrix.

 

Back to top