Author Topic: Questions For the BBB from a complete NOOB  (Read 2583 times)

Offline rattataz

• Kudos: 0
Questions For the BBB from a complete NOOB
« on: May 18, 2015, 05:46:31 PM »
I have read the wiki but did not find these answers.
I am planning to use the BBB in bridge mode with the octoscroller for a P10 vertical matrix ( 8 x 3 )

1. The micro SD card. Are there recomendations/ minimum requirements ? ie. size, class, manufacturer

2. In another thread David Pitts posted " Support to run sequences from SD card so USB will not be required " Has this been implimented? Do I need the USB stick? If yes then recomendations / minimum requirements.

3. I know the octoscoller can handle 8 panels per output, is there any prefered layout options? What I mean, in my case where I'm having a 8 x 3 configuration, is there any advantages to connecting 8 panels to 3 outputs or 4 panels to 6 outputs or 3 panels per output?

There will be MANY more questions to follow but this should get me started.

Thx in advance

Offline CaptainMurdoch

• Administrator
  • Kudos: 214
Re: Questions For the BBB from a complete NOOB
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2015, 12:40:00 AM »
I use Kingston and San Disk memory cards and haven't had any issues.

The SD card can be made optional by installing to the eMMC and editting a file.  There is no official SD or eMMC image for the BBB yet.  I have been working on it in the past week though, so I hope for it to be out in the next 3-4 weeks as a FPP v1.5 Beta.