Author Topic: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels - resolved  (Read 6524 times)

Offline drlucas

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Whitby, Ontario - Canada
  • Posts: 1,423
  • Kudos: 3
Flickering on BBB and p10 panels - resolved
« on: May 27, 2015, 04:27:45 AM »
I have been posting in this thread http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,2034.msg26922.html#msg26922 how I've built up my 24 panel matrix and thought best to start a new thread due to the nature of the problem I have encountered because the other thread was really about a warning of not putting screws in too deep or you'll pinch the PCB. I had that problem too but fortunately was able to back-out the screws before turning on.

This video - https://vimeo.com/128950335 - shows the issue really clearly on my panels. If I stop xlights effect from running on the grid the flickering stops and the circles still appear on the grid, but as the effect runs the flickering happens across the panel. I've tried to remove each of the three cables to the cape to see if one of them was inserting some sort of noise, but that wasn't the case.

Version: v0.3.0-727-g2106a2b (master branch) is the version i'm running on the BBB.

I have a second BBB and octoscroller that I can test with if need be (maybe bad hardware?) but I haven't pulled it out yet and put the FPP image on it.

Any thoughts on where to take this troubleshooting?

Ryan


« Last Edit: May 29, 2015, 06:56:40 PM by drlucas »
Ryan

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 988
  • Kudos: 14
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #1 on: May 27, 2015, 06:13:42 AM »
Have you tried making an fseq file and running from the BBB in master mode? That might eliminate some possibilities.

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 988
  • Kudos: 14
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #2 on: May 27, 2015, 06:15:16 AM »
Do you have your FP image on a microSD, or the eMMC?

Offline drlucas

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Whitby, Ontario - Canada
  • Posts: 1,423
  • Kudos: 3
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #3 on: May 27, 2015, 06:23:57 AM »
Image is on microSD.
I'll try tonight to make a simple fseq file and push it up. I was testing with xlights 3.6.24(I think that was the latest in that stream) and going direct unicast to the ip of the BBB. I was also over wifi - but I'm guessing that wouldn't throw junk out there - but I'll flip from bridge to master and give that a try first. Sadly won't be for about 14or so hours - damn work always getting in the way of progress (:


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 988
  • Kudos: 14
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #4 on: May 27, 2015, 06:41:52 AM »
I would try with wired Ethernet first.  My guess would be that Wi-Fi is the issue.  You must have a powered hub with the usb drive and the Wi-Fi module plugged into that?
Keep in mind your trying to pump out nearly 37,000 channels for that matrix.  That's nearly twice the channels in my entire show last year.

Offline drlucas

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Whitby, Ontario - Canada
  • Posts: 1,423
  • Kudos: 3
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #5 on: May 27, 2015, 07:01:41 AM »
My laptop is wifi, the BBB is hard wired so the usb stick is in the BBB.  Easy enough to hardwire the laptop still so I'll make sure that is ruled out too.
I had a 11' x 4' matrix last year of 2,880 lights (32 rows of 90 led flex strips) and was impressed that the fpd could handle my show no issues. My second fpp only handled video output so this season is going to be interesting for troubleshooting- I am definitely worried about debugging any issues - of course I'm sure Chris makes rock solid code so any issues that crop up will be mostly logic ones in my setup (:


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2015, 08:00:33 AM »
Are you still running on O2, O3 & O4 Octoscroller outputs?

Try it on O1, 2 and 3. I saw oddness on mine until I moved them.

Offline patdelaney

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2014
  • Location: Madison, WI
  • Posts: 1,113
  • Kudos: 9
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2015, 08:23:15 AM »
I have a 22 panel matrix that I am testing. I do not see this issue.
The BBB is hardwired
I can run a sequence from that BBB or I can put it in Bridge mode and use xlights to drive it.
Do you get the same behavior with Matrix tools or Display testing apps?

Pat

Offline egenoup

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: San Antonio, TX
  • Posts: 61
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2015, 02:33:02 PM »
try running the sequence locally on the BBB.  What you are seeing is probably due to multicast packets arriving out of order, which may be due to the higher network traffic caused by the large matrix.  As Pat mentioned, I have an 18 panel matrix that has been running without any issues for a month or so.  I run all my panel sequenced directly from the panel BBB.

Charles

Offline drlucas

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Whitby, Ontario - Canada
  • Posts: 1,423
  • Kudos: 3
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2015, 05:05:43 PM »
I tried this little sequence from the BBB in standalone mode.  Similar issue. See video. https://vimeo.com/129048383

I moved the o4 to o1 and same issue.

Is my xlights config ok? Here is how I have my matrix setup....

Horz matrix
RGB nodes
96 strings
128 nodes per string
start channel 1, top left.

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 988
  • Kudos: 14
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2015, 05:20:57 PM »
How large are your power supplies?   It only takes about 35w on full white using 4 panels for me. (Using kill-a-watt to measure)  Since your 6x the panels, if you have 210w or better power supplies, you can try running from only one supply. If it's power supply noise, that might help?

Is the BBB powered from the same supply?  Are all the grounds connected?

Your Xlights config looks good.

Offline drlucas

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Whitby, Ontario - Canada
  • Posts: 1,423
  • Kudos: 3
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2015, 06:13:04 PM »
I have two of the 350w supplies 70a from ray. Both of the power supplies are grounded and the BBB and PSs are all in the same power bar.

I may pull my other BBB and see what happens.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,082
  • Kudos: 12
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #12 on: May 27, 2015, 06:51:08 PM »
I would try from a single supply first, seems like noise.

Offline patdelaney

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jun 2014
  • Location: Madison, WI
  • Posts: 1,113
  • Kudos: 9
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #13 on: May 27, 2015, 06:55:20 PM »
Did you also try and test the matrix with the Display Testing Menu?
You can select all RED, BLUE, GREEN or WHITE.

Do you get the same "noise"?

Pat

Offline drlucas

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Whitby, Ontario - Canada
  • Posts: 1,423
  • Kudos: 3
Re: Flickering on BBB and p10 panels
« Reply #14 on: May 27, 2015, 08:17:44 PM »
The test mode still has some flickering - but solid color pattern doesn't appear to be as bad - maybe because there is no black background?

Anyways I tried another BBB and same issue - that octo only has one port on it but had same issue. The octo build - I don't have anything connected to the power on it - I assume that is just optional to drive the BBB - is that a correct assumption?




Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Back to top