Author Topic: Newbie to PI  (Read 3555 times)

Offline greg becker

• Kudos: 0
    • Corona Lights
Newbie to PI
« on: June 12, 2015, 03:20:33 PM »
Hello everyone,

I just received my Raspberry PI-2. I bought this kit from Amazon,

http://www.amazon.com/CanaKit-Raspberry-Ultimate-Starter-Components/dp/B00G1PNG54/ref=sr_1_3?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1434143798&sr=1-3&keywords=raspberry+pi&pebp=1434143803745&perid=F71723C8CC3644478DDC

I purchased it to eventually control my light show, currently using LOR and want to run everything out of Xlights. I am brand new to the PI world and wanted to learn all about it as I hear so many talking about it. Can anyone point me in the right direction concerning the PI, how to use it with my light show, software to use etc,

Thanks in advance for your help,

Greg
« Last Edit: June 12, 2015, 06:59:39 PM by greg becker »

Offline jnealand

• Developer
  • Kudos: 68
Re: Newbie to PI
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2015, 07:24:15 PM »
Start reading, there is a lot of material here and don't forget to look in the wiki.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline JonB256

• Supporting Member
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2015, 07:35:06 PM »
Start reading, there is a lot of material here and don't forget to look in the wiki.

I was going to say - "start reading" but wasn't sure how it would come across. We are to the point now where most questions have been answered "somewhere"

Its just a matter of finding it. The Wiki is a good place to start to help get the terminology and hardware names in your head.

Offline jnealand

• Developer
« Reply #3 on: June 13, 2015, 05:51:23 AM »