Author Topic: Wi-Pi install  (Read 1813 times)

Offline lightpro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Asheville, NC
  • Posts: 11
  • Kudos: 0
Wi-Pi install
« on: August 12, 2015, 12:02:50 PM »
The wi-pi just came in the mail and I've been looking at /etc/network/interfaces

The wpa_supplicant.conf line is in there:

wpa-roam /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

I'm unsure if I should leave that line there and add the ssid psk information or edit the line out.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,924
  • Kudos: 111
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Wi-Pi install
« Reply #1 on: August 12, 2015, 12:25:14 PM »
The wi-pi just came in the mail and I've been looking at /etc/network/interfaces

The wpa_supplicant.conf line is in there:

wpa-roam /etc/wpa_supplicant/wpa_supplicant.conf

I'm unsure if I should leave that line there and add the ssid psk information or edit the line out.

Thanks in advance for any replies.

If you are using the Raspberry Pi for a Falcon Player, then the wlan0 information can be added in the webpage user interface.
No modifications to files in the Debian Linux is required (or even recommended).

Offline lightpro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Asheville, NC
  • Posts: 11
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Wi-Pi install
« Reply #2 on: August 12, 2015, 12:53:45 PM »
Makes sense to me. Thanks. I've been working with FPP via Internet sharing over Ethernet to check it out. It's definitely as promoted--very cool.

I ordered the wi-pi to take the next step. I thought it was necessary to configure it before using the web UI.

~Best

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 4,924
  • Kudos: 111
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Wi-Pi install
« Reply #3 on: August 12, 2015, 01:01:17 PM »
There have been other postings about configuring the Wi-Pi.  The more commonly used wireless is the Edimax. I know it is fully supported by the current install.

Offline lightpro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Asheville, NC
  • Posts: 11
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Wi-Pi install
« Reply #4 on: August 12, 2015, 08:30:43 PM »
There have been other postings about configuring the Wi-Pi.  The more commonly used wireless is the Edimax. I know it is fully supported by the current install.

The Wi-Pi is inexpensive and the Edimax is even cheaper. I have seen it mentioned. The D-Link N Nano is also mentioned. I didn't consider that a usb adapter supported by RPI may not be supported by FPP.

Based on the lack of success I'm having going through the Web UI, I think I may have purchased the wrong one.

Online CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,261
  • Kudos: 182
Re: Wi-Pi install
« Reply #5 on: August 12, 2015, 09:04:37 PM »
If it is not working on the FPP image but is supposed to be supported in raspbian then it is probably just a module not being loaded.  Does the wlan0 interface show up in the FPP network settings screen?
-
Chris

Offline lightpro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Asheville, NC
  • Posts: 11
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Wi-Pi install
« Reply #6 on: August 12, 2015, 09:17:55 PM »
If it is not working on the FPP image but is supposed to be supported in raspbian then it is probably just a module not being loaded.  Does the wlan0 interface show up in the FPP network settings screen?

Yes. I enter the ssid and psk and reboot. Then I check through ifconfig on the pi and wlan0 has no inet address.

Online CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,261
  • Kudos: 182
Re: Wi-Pi install
« Reply #7 on: August 12, 2015, 09:22:41 PM »
You should not need to reboot just configure, save, and apply through the web UI.  The interface is detected so that is good.  Are you using DHCP or static IP?  Is your router using wpa2?  We don't support WEP.

Offline lightpro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Asheville, NC
  • Posts: 11
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Wi-Pi install
« Reply #8 on: August 12, 2015, 09:34:58 PM »
You should not need to reboot just configure, save, and apply through the web UI.  The interface is detected so that is good.  Are you using DHCP or static IP?  Is your router using wpa2?  We don't support WEP.
I'm using DHCP and wpa2. I didn't try static. I'm saving that for the next round. I'm glad to know it should work. I just haven't applied the correct tweak.

Online CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,261
  • Kudos: 182
Re: Wi-Pi install
« Reply #9 on: August 12, 2015, 09:46:50 PM »
If you grab the logs zip by clicking the zip button on the logs tab of the FPP file manager and attach the zip file to a post here I can take a look and see if I see what is happening.

Offline lightpro

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Asheville, NC
  • Posts: 11
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Wi-Pi install
« Reply #10 on: August 13, 2015, 09:38:38 AM »
It was the router. Maybe a Mavericks OSX (yeah I'm one of those people) issue?  FPP is working just fine with the Wi-Pi.

~Best

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,747
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Wi-Pi install
« Reply #11 on: August 13, 2015, 08:01:48 PM »
I don't have one hooked right now, but when I tested a WiPi a few months back it worked and I have since bought a couple more to use when I start putting my multisync network in place.  I know the edimax is cheaper, but there I like to support local retailers when the price difference is not huge.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

 

Back to top