Author Topic: Options for mounting power supplies into CG1500  (Read 1704 times)

Offline Jeffl

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location: Brandon, SD
  • Posts: 519
  • Kudos: 4
  • Just remember. Wireless is nice. Copper is king!
    • Christmas In Brandon
Options for mounting power supplies into CG1500
« on: September 25, 2015, 08:22:40 AM »
I have some DIYLEDExpress 12v power supplies that I need to mount into some older model CG1500 cases.  I know there are plastic shelves that you can but but I'm sure there are cheaper methods.

I have some ideas but does anyone have any suggestions or photos of how they did it that worked well?

Offline toozie21

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location: MD
  • Posts: 453
  • Kudos: 0
    • My website
Re: Options for mounting power supplies into CG1500
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2015, 08:44:58 AM »
How about a piece of scrap acrylic (or similar material) from a big box store.  You can then drill the holes where you need it and screw everything in place.

Offline Jeffl

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location: Brandon, SD
  • Posts: 519
  • Kudos: 4
  • Just remember. Wireless is nice. Copper is king!
    • Christmas In Brandon
Re: Options for mounting power supplies into CG1500
« Reply #2 on: September 25, 2015, 09:47:47 AM »
Thanks.  I think the Ace hardware in town sells it cut to fit.  I'll check that out.  Now I just need to see what screw sizes it takes.  The power supply has mounting holes, some of which the circuit board is behind.  Not the greatest design feature.

Offline toozie21

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location: MD
  • Posts: 453
  • Kudos: 0
    • My website
Re: Options for mounting power supplies into CG1500
« Reply #3 on: September 25, 2015, 09:58:13 AM »
I believe that they are #8 sized (at least based on this: http://www.diychristmas.org/vb1/showthread.php?2433-Two-Power-Supplies-in-a-CG-1500).


Yeah, the nut locations leave something to desired.  I think I only used 2 or 3 of the mounting points so I didn't risk ruining/shorting anything.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,305
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Options for mounting power supplies into CG1500
« Reply #4 on: September 25, 2015, 09:58:15 AM »
I use Zip ties to hold the power supply to the mounting board if the threaded holes are not convenient.

Offline mikewlaymon

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 32
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Options for mounting power supplies into CG1500
« Reply #5 on: September 25, 2015, 10:11:34 AM »
Industrial strength velcro on the back?  (what I did with one of mine)

Offline Jeffl

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location: Brandon, SD
  • Posts: 519
  • Kudos: 4
  • Just remember. Wireless is nice. Copper is king!
    • Christmas In Brandon
Re: Options for mounting power supplies into CG1500
« Reply #6 on: September 25, 2015, 10:19:53 AM »
Thanks.  This is what I needed.

Offline Jeffl

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location: Brandon, SD
  • Posts: 519
  • Kudos: 4
  • Just remember. Wireless is nice. Copper is king!
    • Christmas In Brandon
Re: Options for mounting power supplies into CG1500
« Reply #7 on: September 25, 2015, 07:43:02 PM »
One done. An F8 and 30amp supply.  I Mounted the power supply with 3 #8 screws.  Couldn't get 4 because of the holes in the case and I couldn't get it centered where I wanted but it worked fine.  The screws went in just far enough but not too far before they got tight.

For the controller I used 6x32 5/8 screws and 1/4 length of 1/4 water line as a standoff.  I'm happy with the outcome.


 

Back to top