Author Topic: Will Falcon-16 be more flexible with regards to WS2811?  (Read 3407 times)

Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Will Falcon-16 be more flexible with regards to WS2811?
« on: August 05, 2013, 01:29:11 PM »
Lots of discussions in DLA about WS2811 strings... are they supported, or not... are the reported problems related to the clock rate, or not...

anyway... will Falcon-16 be able to accommodate the variance in clock rates and allow more broadly the support of WS2811 and WS2812 if they use 12V?

thx!
http://WinterLightShow.com  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: Will Falcon-16 be more flexible with regards to WS2811?
« Reply #1 on: August 05, 2013, 02:29:24 PM »
I have a couple strips WS 2811. With no problems. I can tweak the code if problems arise.


PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,238
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Will Falcon-16 be more flexible with regards to WS2811?
« Reply #2 on: August 05, 2013, 02:57:01 PM »
I think Sean was seriously looking at the 12vdc WS2811 flex strips for a Mega-tree purpose, since the 3 LEDs per pixel wouldn't be a concern.

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: Will Falcon-16 be more flexible with regards to WS2811?
« Reply #3 on: August 05, 2013, 03:49:45 PM »
I think Sean was seriously looking at the 12vdc WS2811 flex strips for a Mega-tree purpose, since the 3 LEDs per pixel wouldn't be a concern.

Here is my confidence in Dave.

I will be getting both 5 and 12v ws2811 rgb stuff.

Prob around. 100 meters

I like Dave's response to me "no problem"

I don't care if I have issues, I just want to have confidence that those can be addressed and fixed for this year.

I do have that confidence.

Sean
Littleton, CO Latest releases http://nutcracker123.com/nutcracker/releases xLights/Nutcracker Forum http://nutcracker123.com/forum/index.php Facebook [url=https://www.facebook.com/groups

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: Will Falcon-16 be more flexible with regards to WS2811?
« Reply #4 on: August 06, 2013, 12:33:56 PM »
12V WS-2811 have been tested with Falcon16 and they are working fine. Both strips and Technicolor pixels.

Offline brownjm74

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Mason, MI
  • Posts: 16
  • Kudos: 0
    • Brown Christmas Light Show
Re: Will Falcon-16 be more flexible with regards to WS2811?
« Reply #5 on: October 21, 2013, 11:57:57 AM »
I am currently having problems with the WS2811 flex strip.  When I use Xlights (2012b) "test" slider button I cannot control each pixel group(3 leds) individually.  ie  if I click on Ch 1-3 and turn on the background to red the first 6 pixel groups light up and not just the first one.  And the same thing happens if I turn the Green & Blue on.  Then if I turn all 150 on I get the entire ribbon.  This is the only two options I can get to work.

Thanks,

Jeremy Brown
Mason, MI
www.brownchristmaslightshow.com

BTW I am using Lynx USB Dongle flashed with pixelnet to control my Falcon 16.

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: Will Falcon-16 be more flexible with regards to WS2811?
« Reply #6 on: October 21, 2013, 12:07:31 PM »
I am currently having problems with the WS2811 flex strip.  When I use Xlights (2012b) "test" slider button I cannot control each pixel group(3 leds) individually.  ie  if I click on Ch 1-3 and turn on the background to red the first 6 pixel groups light up and not just the first one.  And the same thing happens if I turn the Green & Blue on.  Then if I turn all 150 on I get the entire ribbon.  This is the only two options I can get to work.

Thanks,

Jeremy Brown
Mason, MI
www.brownchristmaslightshow.com

BTW I am using Lynx USB Dongle flashed with pixelnet to control my Falcon 16.

there have been 25 releases of xlights since 2012B (which was about 18 months ago). I suggest you first get on the latest xlights.
http://nutcracker123.com/nutcracker/releases/

in 2012 there were 5 releases, 2012a - 2012e. Starting in 2013 the version numbering was changed to be 3.0.0 and upwards. The biggest change with xlights for this year is that all of the Nutcracker effects are not part of xlights. You can play movies, create your own custom models, and have an extra half dozen effect classes added.

on this same link is 50 hours of vimeo tutorial on the new nutcracker/xlights software http://nutcracker123.com/nutcracker/releases/
or go to vimeo.com and search for "sean meighan".

i have an etherdongle connected to my falcon-16 and my ws2811 12v flex strips are working as expected.

did you setup grouping on your falcon-16. you do NOT want any grouping set with these lights.

thanks
sean

Offline brownjm74

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Mason, MI
  • Posts: 16
  • Kudos: 0
    • Brown Christmas Light Show
Re: Will Falcon-16 be more flexible with regards to WS2811?
« Reply #7 on: October 21, 2013, 12:16:55 PM »
I will download the latest version tonight and let you know what happens.  I didn't group any of them.  ie I left the Simple group number at 1 which will work perfectly because I am using them in arches for my first RGB item!  I am using xlight because I use LOR S3 to sequence with being I am still using 9 CTB-16D controllers for the show.

Thanks,

Jeremy

Offline brownjm74

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Mason, MI
  • Posts: 16
  • Kudos: 0
    • Brown Christmas Light Show
Re: Will Falcon-16 be more flexible with regards to WS2811?
« Reply #8 on: October 21, 2013, 07:18:31 PM »
I updated to the latest Nutcracker program and re-flashed my Lynx Pixelnet Dongle.  It seems to work on the xlights "test" tab for the RGB however when I select Ch 1-3 and turn on the background red the first 6 Pixel groups light up.  The Green & Blue only come on for the 1st pixel group.  But if I select 4-6 they work perfectly.  Now I just have to work on getting my LOR channel addressing correct to make it all work.

I am currently viewing some of the Nutcracker tutorials now (Damn!!!  what a program! ) it almost can even brew my beer.  I can't wait to expand in the RGB world even more.

Thanks,

Jeremy Brown

julishan89

  • Guest
Re: Will Falcon-16 be more flexible with regards to WS2811?
« Reply #9 on: October 23, 2013, 02:22:11 AM »
thanks

 

Back to top