Author Topic: F16 Test works, but XLights test does nothing  (Read 1348 times)

Offline tthompson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 25
  • Kudos: 0
F16 Test works, but XLights test does nothing
« on: August 23, 2015, 05:13:25 PM »
I soldered everything up and flashed the PIC, configured the F16v1 board with channels 1-6144 (128 pixels per port with BGR)

I am using DLA Pixelnet USB Dongle on Com4.

I have one strand of 128 Pixels plugged into port 1.

I know it programmed because When I hit PROGRAM from Falcon Configuration Software, the lights all flashed white and then stopped.

i can also successfully use the "TEST" jumper and the lights cycle through (BGR)
I open Xlights (4.2.3) and setup USB (Pixelnet) on com4.  I only choose 4096 channels so it doesn't complain.

I go to the TEST tab and select all...select "output to lights" and then select any function.

I tested on several ports, but nothing happens for any of them.

nothing happens.

What am I doing wrong here?



Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,111
  • Kudos: 12
Re: F16 Test works, but XLights test does nothing
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2015, 05:20:26 PM »
Does the pixelnet led slowly blink when your dongle is connected?

Offline tthompson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 25
  • Kudos: 0
Re: F16 Test works, but XLights test does nothing
« Reply #2 on: August 23, 2015, 05:47:46 PM »
Yes. Green led on the dongle flashes

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,856
  • Kudos: 214
Re: F16 Test works, but XLights test does nothing
« Reply #3 on: August 23, 2015, 05:54:07 PM »
It sounds like you are running into what I did the other day when I first started using my f16 v1 boards.

You can't have the f16 configured for 6144 channels if you only have it driven with the USB dongle.  If you tell the f16 that you are sending it universes 1&2 then you have to send it both in order for the PixelNet light on the f16 to blink.  You can't just send it one universe if you have it configured for 2.  Change the f16 to only expect universe 1 and I think you will see the blue LED on the f16 start blinking when sending one universe from xLights via the USB dongle.
-
Chris

Offline tthompson

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 25
  • Kudos: 0
Re: F16 Test works, but XLights test does nothing
« Reply #4 on: August 23, 2015, 07:54:11 PM »
that did it!

Thanks Captain.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,856
  • Kudos: 214
Re: F16 Test works, but XLights test does nothing
« Reply #5 on: August 23, 2015, 07:55:21 PM »
Thank Dave, I asked him late one night and he have me the answer.  :)

 

Back to top