Author Topic: Rasclock and FPD  (Read 2993 times)

Offline rdebolt

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Boise, ID
  • Posts: 554
  • Kudos: 3
    • Christmas in Boise
Rasclock and FPD
« on: October 24, 2013, 08:49:14 AM »
Ok so I am sure another stupid question, but if the Rasclock goes on the ribbon pins, is there an adapter to still connect the FPD. How would you set up both?




Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2013, 09:48:24 AM »
I've reached the same point. 
I thought there was some consideration on how to solve that with another small board.

I'm wondering as well if I could add another connector to the ribbon cable so that the FPP, FPD and the RASCLOCK are all connected with that common cable. 
http://WinterLightShow.com  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Offline JerryPlak

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Sunbury, OH
  • Posts: 603
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #2 on: October 24, 2013, 10:57:55 AM »
Jerry Plak

Offline rdebolt

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Boise, ID
  • Posts: 554
  • Kudos: 3
    • Christmas in Boise
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #3 on: October 24, 2013, 11:25:28 AM »
That looks promising Jerry!

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NW Montana
  • Posts: 1,426
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #4 on: October 24, 2013, 11:26:05 AM »
You install the expansion header on the fpd.  It is optional.  So it will plug into the fpd board and not on the pi

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk

Offline rdebolt

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Boise, ID
  • Posts: 554
  • Kudos: 3
    • Christmas in Boise
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #5 on: October 24, 2013, 11:27:59 AM »

You install the expansion header on the fpd.  It is optional

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk



Part Number or link?

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NW Montana
  • Posts: 1,426
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #6 on: October 24, 2013, 11:29:45 AM »
Would have to look it up but it is just a 2 row header next to the ribbon cable connector

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk


Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NW Montana
  • Posts: 1,426
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #7 on: October 24, 2013, 11:47:10 AM »
P2 is the header I am talking about

Tony

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #8 on: October 24, 2013, 12:03:47 PM »
I have not spec'd the part but it would be nice to get an extra long male header there so RasClock does not rest on the ribbon cable coming over from Pi on P1. The Rasclock is long enough and would need to rest on cable if a longer header is not used to raise it up some. If anyone wants to look for appropriate part that would be great.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline Materdaddy

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Oceanside, CA
  • Posts: 2,050
  • Kudos: 10
    • Christmas On Quiet Hills
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #9 on: October 24, 2013, 03:58:17 PM »
don't know if this will work ....http://www.abelectronics.co.uk/products/3/Raspberry-Pi/15/RTC-Pi-Real-time-Clock-Module

Note that this RTC will NOT work without modification on the FPP image.

Mike only put support for the Rasclock which is based on a pcf2127a chipset.  The one you linked to here is based on the ds1307 which uses a different driver.

Offline JerryPlak

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Sunbury, OH
  • Posts: 603
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #10 on: October 24, 2013, 04:06:45 PM »
Mat thos good to know :-)

Send from my Galaxy III


Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,215
  • Kudos: 124
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #11 on: October 24, 2013, 06:04:17 PM »
A little bit of modification and the Rasclock could go UNDER the Pi.

Or - since I'm using a computer ribbon cable (IDE) with 3 connectors (because I just didn't see a reason to cut it off, could the Rasclock just plug into the correct 6 pins of the extra end?

(yes, I know it is "female to female" as it exists, but I could easily find 6 pieces of metal similar to those pins, or just buy a 6 pin Male to Male adapter from Mouser)


Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NW Montana
  • Posts: 1,426
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #12 on: October 24, 2013, 06:09:35 PM »
If someone wants to use this non RasClock RTC chip, get me the module driver for it and I will add support to select which RTC chip you want in the timeconfig page

Tony

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NW Montana
  • Posts: 1,426
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #13 on: October 24, 2013, 06:11:15 PM »
here is a link http://www.adafruit.com/products/1112 for a stacking header to get the RasClock above the ribbon connector

Tony

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,215
  • Kudos: 124
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #14 on: October 24, 2013, 07:24:56 PM »
Mykroft, do you know of any reason that you can't have the Rasclock and the FPD connected at the same time?

Doesn't the Pi just query the Rasclock on boot up? or does it periodically check the time?

 

Back to top