Author Topic: Rasclock and FPD  (Read 2884 times)

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NC Montana
  • Posts: 1,420
  • Kudos: 57
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #15 on: October 24, 2013, 07:59:29 PM »
It only polls it at boot up - the Optional expansion header was added so it could be plugged into the FPD

Tony

Offline Materdaddy

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Oceanside, CA
  • Posts: 2,050
  • Kudos: 10
    • Christmas On Quiet Hills
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #16 on: October 24, 2013, 08:18:24 PM »
Mykroft, do you know of any reason that you can't have the Rasclock and the FPD connected at the same time?

Doesn't the Pi just query the Rasclock on boot up? or does it periodically check the time?

I believe the Rasclock is only queried on boot.  The time is stored to it if you manually set the time in the FPP ui as well.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #17 on: October 24, 2013, 08:45:49 PM »
... the Optional expansion header was added so it could be plugged into the FPD

Tony

Is the "optional expansion header" the 2x9 pin area labeled as P2 ?? (just below the 2x13 header for the ribbon cable).

My FPD is working at the moment and attached in a case, so I can't flip it over to verify.

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,929
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #18 on: October 24, 2013, 08:51:44 PM »
Yes P2
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #19 on: October 25, 2013, 07:00:05 AM »
Because I just can't stand to hear everyone talk about the Rasclock, I ordered one. Soon, I will rule the world!

Offline JerryPlak

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Sunbury, OH
  • Posts: 597
  • Kudos: 2
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #20 on: October 25, 2013, 07:05:22 AM »
Because I just can't stand to hear everyone talk about the Rasclock, I ordered one. Soon, I will rule the world!

O-NO not that  ;) but just one Rasclock hold on I only have one.. maybe will need to order another Rasclock and not looking to rule the world!! 8)
Jerry Plak

Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: Rasclock and FPD
« Reply #21 on: October 25, 2013, 07:15:20 AM »
If all pi are connected, only one ras clock should be needed when all is said and done.
http://WinterLightShow.com  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

 

Back to top