Author Topic: Want to send Pixelnet Universe 9 from an FPD - resolved, sort of  (Read 1360 times)

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Want to send Pixelnet Universe 9 from an FPD - resolved, sort of
« on: November 23, 2015, 05:17:59 PM »
Thought I knew how to set it up, but getting no programming response

Pixelnet U9 begins at 32769 and ends at 36864.

I want to put some mini trees and arches on 14 of the outputs.

My assumption was that for programming, I would act like it was Universe 1 and set all my channel start numbers by subtracting 32768.

but it isn't even accepting the program as shown (no flash)
I am using Controller software v1.2.3
I am not 100% positive about the firmware on the F16v1. :( but it should be the most recent.

Trying to program thru an FPD which has worked with my "0" address F16v1
May have to try an Etherdongle.

The previous topic about starting at U5 (16385) made me think this would work:
http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,1659.msg18004.html#msg18004

« Last Edit: November 23, 2015, 06:05:59 PM by JonB256 »

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Want to send Pixelnet Universe 9 from an FPD
« Reply #1 on: November 23, 2015, 05:53:18 PM »
Part of my problem may have been that the FPP/RasPi/FPD was in Remote mode.

When I put it in Standalone, and Programmed that F16, I did get the Flash of Success.

but, it still isn't responding as channels 32769 and above. 

work continues.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Want to send Pixelnet Universe 9 from an FPD
« Reply #2 on: November 23, 2015, 06:05:29 PM »
and - can't do it.

The FPD is limited up to 32768 as the final channel, so getting 32769 and more just isn't going to do it.

Time to move an E1.31 device or two into that range and move my trees and arches down.

Not too painful.

Offline FireMedic4Christ

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Brighton, CO
  • Posts: 252
  • Kudos: 1
Re: Want to send Pixelnet Universe 9 from an FPD
« Reply #3 on: November 24, 2015, 09:58:27 AM »

. . . Time to move an E1.31 device or two . . .


and which E1.31 devices would you recommend looking at for next year?

Brian
Brian

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Want to send Pixelnet Universe 9 from an FPD - resolved, sort of
« Reply #4 on: November 24, 2015, 10:03:06 AM »
For sheer functionality, the F16V2 is hard to beat for e1.31.

For size concerns, I'm really sold on the F4-B as either e1.31 or a remote FPP.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,799
  • Kudos: 209
Re: Want to send Pixelnet Universe 9 from an FPD - resolved, sort of
« Reply #5 on: November 24, 2015, 10:15:40 AM »
Jon, would you see benefit in allowing the user to specify which channels made up the block of 32K being sent to the FPD?  Right now you can only specify a start channel and we went a 32K block starting at that start channel, but we could modify FPP in the future to allow you to pick which channels made up that block, so you could send 1-16384 and 32769-49152.  We could look at the FPD like E1.31 where you would pick 512 channel and/or 4096 channel blocks to "fill up" the 32K block being sent to the FPD.
-
Chris

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Want to send Pixelnet Universe 9 from an FPD - resolved, sort of
« Reply #6 on: November 24, 2015, 11:14:47 AM »
Jon, would you see benefit in allowing the user to specify which channels made up the block of 32K being sent to the FPD?  Right now you can only specify a start channel and we went a 32K block starting at that start channel, but we could modify FPP in the future to allow you to pick which channels made up that block, so you could send 1-16384 and 32769-49152.  We could look at the FPD like E1.31 where you would pick 512 channel and/or 4096 channel blocks to "fill up" the 32K block being sent to the FPD.

I would have found that very beneficial. :)

But, it was an easy change at this point to update my xLights models and move all my Pixelnet items down and inside the 32k block.

My other choice (I considered it) was to use my Spare RasPi and FPD, then use the Offset feature.
If I wasn't also using the FPD to output a lot of DMX in the first block, I could have offset by 16K and been good.

But, as you describe it, being able to decide which block(s) get Offset, would be a useful change.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,799
  • Kudos: 209
Re: Want to send Pixelnet Universe 9 from an FPD - resolved, sort of
« Reply #7 on: November 24, 2015, 03:51:49 PM »
But, as you describe it, being able to decide which block(s) get Offset, would be a useful change.

OK, I added a note to my TODO list for when I get around to converting the FPD channel output to C++ next year.

 

Back to top