Author Topic: Alpha 0.1.2 - Required Update -- in-place update, or fresh install from image?  (Read 2379 times)

Offline MyKroFt

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: NW Montana
  • Posts: 1,428
  • Kudos: 57
May sound like a dumb question - but do you have it on the correct pins - the console monitor if you have it hooked up will state just before the cli login promp that the ic2 device was found etc...

Tony



Offline budude

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 42
  • Kudos: 0
Yes - in the corner just as the picture shows on the site. It seems to find the device but doesn't like what it tells it apparently:

Nov  3 17:48:40 FPP kernel: [   42.086916] bcm2708_spi bcm2708_spi.0: master is unqueued, this is deprecated
Nov  3 17:48:40 FPP kernel: [   42.087764] bcm2708_spi bcm2708_spi.0: SPI Controller at 0x20204000 (irq 80)
Nov  3 17:48:45 FPP kernel: [   46.278379] rtc-pcf2127a 0-0051: chip found
Nov  3 17:48:45 FPP kernel: [   46.278789] rtc-pcf2127a 0-0051: retrieved date/time is not valid.
Nov  3 17:48:45 FPP kernel: [   46.279227] rtc-pcf2127a 0-0051: rtc core: registered rtc-pcf2127a as rtc0
Nov  3 17:48:45 FPP kernel: [   46.279290] i2c i2c-0: new_device: Instantiated device pcf2127a at 0x51
Nov  3 17:48:47 FPP kernel: [   48.312291] rtc-pcf2127a 0-0051: retrieved date/time is not valid.
Nov  3 17:48:47 FPP kernel: [   48.312621] rtc-pcf2127a 0-0051: retrieved date/time is not valid.
... and so on - fills the log with this....

All of the 'hwclock' cmds return the same msg that it can't access it through any known means... Anyway - - don't want to clutter up the thread anymore with OT stuff so may start another thread if I get any where.

Offline Skunberg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 200
  • Kudos: 0
Another thread if you don't get any where would be helpful also.

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk


Offline Materdaddy

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2013
  • Location: Oceanside, CA
  • Posts: 2,050
  • Kudos: 10
    • Christmas On Quiet Hills
Fat32 formatted USB flash drive has already been a requirement.  That is where all your media/settings/config etc is stored.

Tony

Yep - didn't know that - can I suggest you mention that in the install instructions for this Alpha release? For us complete newbs it would be a good reminder. Either way - looking forward to using it. Looks like I do have a bad RASClock board though - nothing I do gets it recognized - may have to drag out the scope and take a look...

This has actually been reqired since the first NOOBS image.  It wasn't required (but strongly suggested) on the original full images.  Is this the first time you've gone with the NOOBS install?

 

Back to top