Author Topic: ssc limits  (Read 3608 times)

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 994
  • Kudos: 13
Re: ssc limits
« Reply #15 on: November 04, 2013, 10:36:02 AM »
I actually typed a response for a dual ssc idea for 140 nodes and didn't properly fix the response for the 120 node idea...  1 SSC will do (4) 30 nodes arches, heck, you don't even need the 4 port if you stay under 120 nodes. (you will need a 4 port and 2 SSCs if you are gung ho at 35 per/140 total nodes)

YEP, The SSC doesn't care... Kinda weird at first but really flexible.  I am using this technique all over my show IE - 4 mini trees with 20 rectangles per tree and using 1 SSC to power all 80.  I actually program groups of 20 and 3 channel mode (dumb).  Super easy and way cheaper than doing them dumb...  With the Falcon programming you can even get WAY MORE creative...  I will go one step farther and remind you that you can setup your sequencing so that each element is separate...  I have 4 controllers setup in LSP for the minis I am running with 1 SSC. 
Sam
 Last year's video: https://vimeo.com/150560653

Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: ssc limits
« Reply #16 on: November 04, 2013, 11:32:06 AM »
Smart String DLA wiki page created!  (...I can also post in Falcon's wiki if it serves a purpose)

Please review and provide feedback/improvements/corrections.

I've consolidated the information (as I understand it) to draw comparisons between the various SSC, DSC and Zeus controllers.  (including wire lengths)

http://www.diylightanimation.com/wiki/index.php?title=SSC_Comparison
http://WinterLightShow.com  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Offline sirloinofbeef001

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 457
  • Kudos: 0
  • believe in miracles
Re: ssc limits
« Reply #17 on: November 04, 2013, 12:34:00 PM »
Thanks Steve. I'll read up on it. I'm glad MAX was included.  ;D
Its a wonderful life.

Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: ssc limits
« Reply #18 on: November 04, 2013, 12:50:32 PM »
Obviously, I did not include Falcon in the DLA wiki.

Using Dave's data, below:

PIC: PIC32MX795F512L
Pixelnet: n/a
Lead (max): 30ft
Spacing: 6ft

As I understand it, the Falcon SSC firmware will not increase the distances, but it does add features and improves synchronization.

Offline sirloinofbeef001

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 457
  • Kudos: 0
  • believe in miracles
Re: ssc limits
« Reply #19 on: November 04, 2013, 01:01:29 PM »
Obviously, I did not include Falcon in the DLA wiki.

Using Dave's data, below:

PIC: PIC32MX795F512L
Pixelnet: n/a
Lead (max): 30ft
Spacing: 6ft

As I understand it, the Falcon SSC firmware will not increase the distances, but it does add features and improves synchronization.
thanks for your patience.

 

Back to top