Author Topic: (Yet Another) Newbie Post  (Read 2972 times)

Offline L1011

• Kudos: 0
(Yet Another) Newbie Post
« on: December 14, 2015, 12:08:54 PM »
Hi everyone, my first post but I've been lurking for quite some time trying to learn as much as I can. Lots of great info on this site! I've been reading the wikis, the awesome powerpoints people have put together, etc. and really appreciate the information.

That said, I'm a newb to RGB pixels, RGB controllers, etc. and was hoping this particular forum was a good place to ask general questions about lighting.  I hope these aren't silly questions...

I'm having some trouble wrapping my head around some of the items I've been reading about here.

1. I'm confused about how Smart pixels are addressed at the network layer, particularly after they've been spliced apart.  Do the pixels themselves have IP addresses or do the RGB controllers hand those out?

2. I was surfing pixelsequencing's website and saw that a single 5m roll of 5050RGB's (2811's) uses 3.2Amps.  I'm not an electrician at all but it seems like I would need a LOT of 10Amp circuits installed outside to run a basic light show.   Do these lights really draw that much amperage?  (I'd link the site, but I'm new here and don't know the rules for posting other website links)

3. What is the difference between scheduling (Xlights) and sequencing (Vixen)?  It's my understanding (correct me if I'm wrong) that Xlights cannot "sequence".  I'm not sure which software is better for me.

Thanks everyone!

Newbie for 2016 using FPP, F16v2r, F4v2, and WS2811 bullet pixels.

Offline rlemery

• Kudos: 5
Re: (Yet Another) Newbie Post
« Reply #1 on: December 14, 2015, 12:37:34 PM »
Welcome to the hobby.

On the first question the pixels use a take one and pass it along chip. It doesn't care how many are in a strand or were it's been cut.