Author Topic: Max # of Lights  (Read 3406 times)

Offline Tindivall

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 49
  • Kudos: 0
Max # of Lights
« on: December 21, 2015, 01:08:08 PM »
Anyone know the max # of lights that 1 output on the Falcon can handle?

I currently have a mega tree that is 20 strings.... was thinking about soldering 2 strings in sequence so it was only 10 strings and then running those off 1 board (instead of the 2 Zues boards I have now).

Would be 176 lights per string....   Anyone have experience with this?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #1 on: December 21, 2015, 01:59:09 PM »
170 is the limit per output of an F16v1.  Even if you type in a larger number (I just tried), all you get is 170.
That is a full DMX universe.

The F16v2 has a limit of 680 in 16 output mode or 340 in 32 output expansion mode.

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,799
  • Kudos: 209
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2015, 02:05:27 PM »
How many folds do your strings have?  You could possibly get creative and do up/down/up for each string instead of up/down/up/down.  If you do folding on the controller then your sequencer won't need to know that the final string isn't the same as the others.
-
Chris

Offline hamblinj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Sandy, Oregon
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #3 on: January 11, 2016, 02:28:20 PM »
dumb question, that is 680 pixels?

Offline mararunr

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 606
  • Kudos: 14
    • Bentonville Heart Lites
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #4 on: January 11, 2016, 05:56:52 PM »
Actually you can drive 2,040 channels which divided by 3 is 680 pixels BUT you can have more pixels on an output using virtual strings and grouping but this is an advanced concept.  Stick with 680.

Sent from my XT1254 using Tapatalk

Bentonville Heart Lites (www.facebook.com/bheartlites)
 This is just my opinion/suggestion/viewpoint.  Others with other viewpoints/experiences may have different advice.  I am a hobbyist with a couple years real world experience, not an expert.

lightsonlinden

  • Guest
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #5 on: January 11, 2016, 07:40:49 PM »
170 is the limit per output of an F16v1.  Even if you type in a larger number (I just tried), all you get is 170.
That is a full DMX universe.

The F16v2 has a limit of 680 in 16 output mode or 340 in 32 output expansion mode.

I've not gotten an F16 yet so your saying that the Max the F16 will handle in total is 680 pixels across all 16 outputs?

Offline Bshaver

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Location: Denver, CO
  • Posts: 1,426
  • Kudos: 22
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #6 on: January 11, 2016, 07:44:36 PM »
680 per port .. so 16  * 680 = 10,880..
Denver Colorado
45,000 blinky blinks mix of pixels and 130 AC Channels (powered by Minleon & Lynx) ALL Powered by FPP and Falcon!

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 994
  • Kudos: 13
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #7 on: January 12, 2016, 12:03:43 AM »
I'd leave it alone, but maybe change Zeus firmware to Falcon.  There's a good chance your white will suffer beyond 120 pixels if you don't inject power/go the other direction with 10 ports of F16.   
Sam
 Last year's video: https://vimeo.com/150560653

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #8 on: January 12, 2016, 12:45:45 AM »
Zwiller , what does"change zeus firmware to falcon" mean? I got rid of my zeus boards two years ago and nor run on falcon16v2's. So much easier. To op u want 176 nodes per output, v2 drives 680 nodes per output. Be aware  you will need to power inject with greater than maybe 120-150 nodes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Sean
Littleton, CO Latest releases http://nutcracker123.com/nutcracker/releases xLights/Nutcracker Forum http://nutcracker123.com/forum/index.php Facebook [url=https://www.facebook.com/groups

Offline hamblinj

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location: Sandy, Oregon
  • Posts: 5
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #9 on: January 12, 2016, 07:59:52 AM »
Sean,

I am running a mega tree, with DLA 16 port hub, SSC4, at 128 nodes.  comparably how many more nodes do you think I could  run without power injection for a mega tree?

Offline Skunberg

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 200
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #10 on: January 12, 2016, 08:16:50 AM »
You could get the expansion board for the F16v2 and have 32 outputs rather than tie your strings together. That's my plan rather than zig zag.

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 994
  • Kudos: 13
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #11 on: January 12, 2016, 09:02:07 AM »
Zwiller , what does"change zeus firmware to falcon" mean? I got rid of my zeus boards two years ago and nor run on falcon16v2's. So much easier. To op u want 176 nodes per output, v2 drives 680 nodes per output. Be aware  you will need to power inject with greater than maybe 120-150 nodes.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php?action=downloads;cat=17  Maybe it's my age showing but if I had a stable solution I'd stick with it.  I suggested the firmware change so OP could get some experience with the Falcon line.  I am not 100% but I thought this firmware would also allow you to run more nodes but I think capped at 150.   

I think you never know until you try.  Each node is different.  You might get away with running more...  Beyond 128 I'd say the white might suffer.   All depends on wire gauge, length of wire, etc.  IIRC, I've read stories of guys happy with 150 but wager a six pack that if you did a side by side with a power injected string the injected string's white would be stronger. 

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: Max # of Lights
« Reply #12 on: January 12, 2016, 09:16:26 AM »
Ah, I see zwiller, you mean dave's replacement firmware on the zeus. I dont know what the upper node limit is. maybe 150?. RJ limited nodes to 120 so there would not be too much current drawn.
I do not think dave plans any more updates to zeus firmware (or ssc firmware). We both are heading to replacing our ssc's, pixelnet and use his new falcon16v2 setup with the remote receivers.
The biggest advantage? You can setup all your channels from a web page, no more programming the start channels into ss'c or usc's. No more active/passive hubs. I will probably be selling 50  v3 ssc's all with the mod's and falcon firmware on them sometime this summer. I also like that the ssc rj45 connectors will be replaced with 3pin waterproof connectors. no more rj45 corrosion. One advantage of the active/passive hubs and ssc's that connect with cat5 cable, it was easy to have various lengths and set just the right length to drive my elements.

pixelnet has been rock solid for me for the last 4 years but i really hate trying to shift start channels around as i add more stuff into the hubs.

 

Back to top