Author Topic: No lights after programming  (Read 1479 times)

Offline Michael

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 113
  • Kudos: 0
No lights after programming
« on: December 23, 2015, 07:08:32 PM »
I noticed my colors were wrong so I checked my settings and had the wrong color order selected from my DLA flex strips.  I updated the config, and press program.  Looking at the OLED on the Falcon 16v2, I could see output.  The strings didn't flash.  I unplugged the board, plugged them back in and now I have no lights.  Unfortunately, the Falcon is on the roof making it harder to debug.  Here is how everything is connected.

FPP -> Falcon V2 -> Pixelnet out -> DLA SSC Hub -> Pixelnet -> Falcon 16 v1 (universe 1.) 

Should I be able program the board when wired like this?  My next thought is to run a Cat5 directly from Falcon V2 to the Falcon 16v1 and try again, tomorrow :(


Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: No lights after programming
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2015, 08:59:50 PM »
I think Dave Pitts was working on the F16v2 Pixelnet out being able to program the F16v1, but I don't think it is finished.

It will program with an Etherdongle or with the RasPi->FPD  or with a USB single universe Pixelnet dongle.

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,929
  • Kudos: 76
Re: No lights after programming
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2015, 09:54:03 PM »
The F16V2 can program an attached F16V1. You need to select FPD, the interface to use and the IP address of F16V2 in the user interface.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: No lights after programming
« Reply #3 on: December 24, 2015, 04:18:01 AM »
Great, Dave. Hadn't tried it but good to know it works.

Michael, your F16v2 pixelnet settings should be 1, 4097, 8193 and 12289 on the single port. That should work. If not thru the hub, then direct.

Offline Michael

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 113
  • Kudos: 0
Re: No lights after programming
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2015, 12:15:39 PM »
Thanks guys.  I was able to get the board programmed again using the Etherdongle.  I tried using the F16V2, but wasn't able to get the board to program even if I directly connected port 1 pixelnet to the F16v1 board.  I checked and the ports are properly configured. 

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,163
  • Kudos: 122
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: No lights after programming
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2015, 12:42:56 PM »
I tried using the F16V2, but wasn't able to get the board to program even if I directly connected port 1 pixelnet to the F16v1 board.  I checked and the ports are properly configured.

Are you using the latest F16v2 firmware?  (1.05)  ?

Offline Michael

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 113
  • Kudos: 0
Re: No lights after programming
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2015, 12:52:05 PM »
Yes.  Running current firmware.

 

Back to top