Author Topic: P10  (Read 11239 times)

Offline Livermore-Dad

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Location: Livermore, CA
  • Posts: 483
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #30 on: January 19, 2016, 12:06:14 PM »

I was wanting to do something like a 7' tall by 15' wide p10 matrix. To cover my garage door. Maybe I'd be better off using regular 2822 and couple pixel nets


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yowsa! That's about 14x14 p10 matrix, or 196 p10 panels. If you dropped to 14x13, you'd have 182 p10 panels, which you'd control with 3 BBB/Octo setups. Ambitious; Can't wait to see it! :)
tah haven't decided yet looking at cost I could use regular 2811 nodes at 1" for 6k oixels or 2" for 3k oixels and be cheaper and less hassle than the p10s.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have been using a nearly 8ft by 4ft pixel matrix on my garage door for 3 years. 2 inch spacing. WS2811 pixels. 1200 pixels (40 x 30)
It runs from a single Falcon F16v1 controller and a single 12vdc power supply.
It just doesn't get much simpler than that, though perhaps it could be larger!!  I use 10 strings, folding 3 times (in xLights, not the controller)

https://vimeo.com/149528977

What are you running in your windows?

Tory
I know some stuff. For example i know I don't know anything.
 

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,237
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: P10
« Reply #31 on: January 19, 2016, 12:12:58 PM »

What are you running in your windows?

Tory

Those window panels (the ones that are too too bright) are vertical flex strips mounted to Pegboard. They are 22 pixels (strips) wide and 30 pixels high. The old TM1809 style in waterproof sleeves. I had reduced their intensity some, but not enough for the camera. If you were at the Expo in Fort Worth, they were on the wall in the FalconChristmas room.

I went vertical with them because they sag so badly if you go horizontal. At the top, I cut the strips at the 1.5meter point and soldered the three wires over to the next strip. Each panel used 11 outputs from an F16v1 controller.

note - since this is a P10 thread, the small "Tune To" sign between my Tree and the Garage matrix is a 3x3 P10 panel.

Offline Aesl1982

  • Probation
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 344
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #32 on: January 19, 2016, 12:16:52 PM »


What are you running in your windows?

Tory

Those window panels (the ones that are too too bright) are vertical flex strips mounted to Pegboard. They are 22 pixels (strips) wide and 30 pixels high. The old TM1809 style in waterproof sleeves. I had reduced their intensity some, but not enough for the camera. If you were at the Expo in Fort Worth, they were on the wall in the FalconChristmas room.

I went vertical with them because they sag so badly if you go horizontal. At the top, I cut the strips at the 1.5meter point and soldered the three wires over to the next strip. Each panel used 11 outputs from an F16v1 controller.

note - since this is a P10 thread, the small "Tune To" sign between my Tree and the Garage matrix is a 3x3 P10 panel.
you use the bbb with octo to run the p10s. And do U have it set in bridge mode?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 989
  • Kudos: 14
Re: P10
« Reply #33 on: January 19, 2016, 12:17:20 PM »

I have been using a nearly 8ft by 4ft pixel matrix on my garage door for 3 years. 2 inch spacing. WS2811 pixels. 1200 pixels (40 x 30)
It runs from a single Falcon F16v1 controller and a single 12vdc power supply.
It just doesn't get much simpler than that, though perhaps it could be larger!!  I use 10 strings, folding 3 times (in xLights, not the controller)

https://vimeo.com/149528977

That looks nice.  At 15'x7' and 2" spacing, he'll need more than 3x the pixels over your setup.  Go to 1" spacing and it'll be more than 12x, at which time P10's are cheaper, and offer a resolution of 0.4" spacing.

At the distance in your video, i'd say the 2" spacing looks pretty good, but I guess Aesl will need to figure out the resolution/price he's willing to deal with!  :)

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,237
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: P10
« Reply #34 on: January 19, 2016, 12:29:58 PM »
Do you use the BBB with octo to run the p10s? And do U have it set in bridge mode?


Yes, a BBB and Octoscroller. It was running as a Remote (it had every FSEQ file loaded), not in Bridge mode. I was using wireless back to the RaspberryPi Master, so Bridge mode wouldn't have been a good choice. This was my first year to not have one or more CAT5 cables going out my bedroom window. :)

Note that if I did make a change to an FSEQ file (and I did dozens of time during the month), I only replaced the FSEQ on that BBB if the change affected it. I had one Master and three Remotes. Most changes only needed an update to a single Remote. Since the Master was being used only for Sound and Remote Control, I rarely updated the files on the Master.

Offline AussiePhil

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 495
  • Kudos: 11
Re: P10
« Reply #35 on: January 19, 2016, 03:28:14 PM »
tah haven't decided yet looking at cost I could use regular 2811 nodes at 1" for 6k oixels or 2" for 3k oixels and be cheaper and less hassle than the p10s.


The maths is quite easy on cost between P10 and 2811 pixels.

At P50 resolution the 2811's are cheaper overall.

At p40 to P30 it becomes a bit of a wash with the 2811's being likely easier

Below P30 you it's actually significantly cheaper to use P10's


Offline Aesl1982

  • Probation
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 344
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #36 on: January 19, 2016, 03:36:34 PM »

tah haven't decided yet looking at cost I could use regular 2811 nodes at 1" for 6k oixels or 2" for 3k oixels and be cheaper and less hassle than the p10s.


The maths is quite easy on cost between P10 and 2811 pixels.

At P50 resolution the 2811's are cheaper overall.

At p40 to P30 it becomes a bit of a wash with the 2811's being likely easier

Below P30 you it's actually significantly cheaper to use P10's
if I built it 7x15 that's close to 200 panes. That's 2grabd alone in panels plus 4 bbb'a and octoscroller so thsts another 400 plus hardware and build materials for weatherproofing were at 3 grand. So if I did 2" spacing on a matrix in at 1100 in oixels and 209 for a controller pigtails and most 200 bucks so I'm at less than 2 grand and at 2" spacing up and down and left to right I think it'll still be dang good resolution


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline AussiePhil

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 495
  • Kudos: 11
Re: P10
« Reply #37 on: January 19, 2016, 03:40:18 PM »
2" spacing = P50 resolution

actually 7x15 will come in at 13 x15 = 182 panels and this requires only 3 bbb/octo


Offline mararunr

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 606
  • Kudos: 14
    • Bentonville Heart Lites
Re: P10
« Reply #38 on: January 19, 2016, 03:46:22 PM »
Keep in mind Boscoyo Studio (James) is working on a more cost effective enclosure so finished costs for P10 matrix versus ws2811 will be closer later this year. Agree that costs to finish P10 matrix right now is quite a bit and could out price similar ws2811 setup.  Also need to consider viewing audience distance and what you really need if costs is a determining factor (may not need P10 resolution depending on display to audience distance to get desired results).
Bentonville Heart Lites (www.facebook.com/bheartlites)
 This is just my opinion/suggestion/viewpoint.  Others with other viewpoints/experiences may have different advice.  I am a hobbyist with a couple years real world experience, not an expert.

Offline Aesl1982

  • Probation
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 344
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #39 on: January 19, 2016, 05:02:13 PM »
Yah my poxel tree was 16x50 and 3" spacing and looked great this year. I figured 2 inch on a big matrix wouldn't look bad either. But I'm just happy I don't have to pay 2500 for a oixel tree from LOR anymore lolol


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline uzelessknowledge

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Alabaster, AL
  • Posts: 558
  • Kudos: 2
P10
« Reply #40 on: January 19, 2016, 05:13:38 PM »

2 inch spacing. WS2811 pixels. 1200 pixels (40 x 30)
It runs from a single Falcon F16v1 controller and a single 12vdc power supply.
What size PSU are you running in order to drive 1200 pixels? Can't be a 350w at 29amps.

Offline Aesl1982

  • Probation
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 344
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #41 on: January 19, 2016, 05:15:32 PM »


2 inch spacing. WS2811 pixels. 1200 pixels (40 x 30)
It runs from a single Falcon F16v1 controller and a single 12vdc power supply.
What size PSU are you running in order to drive 1200 pixels? Can't be a 350w at 29amps.
if it's split across all 16 putouts a 350w should be fine shouldn't it. Each output good for 5 amps


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline uzelessknowledge

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Alabaster, AL
  • Posts: 558
  • Kudos: 2
Re: P10
« Reply #42 on: January 19, 2016, 05:26:11 PM »



2 inch spacing. WS2811 pixels. 1200 pixels (40 x 30)
It runs from a single Falcon F16v1 controller and a single 12vdc power supply.
What size PSU are you running in order to drive 1200 pixels? Can't be a 350w at 29amps.
if it's split across all 16 putouts a 350w should be fine shouldn't it. Each output good for 5 amps


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
The pixels I use are the 12v bullets. They pull 0.55 watts and 0.045 amps per pixel on all white. That would be 660 watts and 54 amps. I would venture other 12v's would be about the same.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,237
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: P10
« Reply #43 on: January 19, 2016, 05:31:26 PM »
Yes, it is a single 30amp Ray Wu supply. I do not run Full White and have the model set at 70% intensity.

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 989
  • Kudos: 14
Re: P10
« Reply #44 on: January 19, 2016, 06:14:07 PM »
Just for comparison.
I run 2024 5b pixels at full white on a 350w power supply.  I've done this for 5 minutes one time as a stress test, but hardly ever achieve 100% white during a normal show.

 

Back to top