Author Topic: P10  (Read 11469 times)

Offline Aesl1982

  • Probation
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 344
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #15 on: January 12, 2016, 04:43:11 PM »

ok that's making more sense now. So really for ease of simplicity I could off my network switch have one going to the f16v2 running all the pixels. Then have rons controller off another port running the p10s.

Yes, if you don't want to use FPP.  You can drive Ron's controller from anything that can send E1.31, including FPP, so if you later decide to switch to using FPP as your show player, you'll still be able to use the same P10 controller.
awesome that helps a lot. What a great group here ove learned a lot  the past two weeks from everyone here.  Where do I find this rons controller


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Phrog30

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 390
  • Kudos: 8
Re: P10
« Reply #16 on: January 12, 2016, 05:34:17 PM »

ok that's making more sense now. So really for ease of simplicity I could off my network switch have one going to the f16v2 running all the pixels. Then have rons controller off another port running the p10s.

Yes, if you don't want to use FPP.  You can drive Ron's controller from anything that can send E1.31, including FPP, so if you later decide to switch to using FPP as your show player, you'll still be able to use the same P10 controller.
awesome that helps a lot. What a great group here ove learned a lot  the past two weeks from everyone here.  Where do I find this rons controller


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
I think here.
http://ronsholidaylights.com

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk


Offline lwillisjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 91
  • Kudos: 1
Re: P10
« Reply #17 on: January 17, 2016, 06:47:31 PM »
This information is very helpful and I have been researching using P10's as well. I am understanding there are a couple of key functions that need to be performed.

The first is to have a device that picks up the DMX information over an E1.31 network. And there are various controller boards to do this. where many controller boards send this as serial information down a defined port....  the P10 panels require a different type interface. And the boards that do this seem to be sort of a serial to parallel type of interface. Ron's controller board has an optional 'matrix interface' that I assume performs this function. But for the BBB this is where the Octoscroller comes into play.

So if my understanding is correct so far..... I have the following questions.

1. Can you use a Raspberry PI in place of the BBB, does the PI also interface to the Octoscroller? I am not familiar with either, just trying to understand all the options.

2. What is the hardware interface to the Octoscroller, I haven't seen this anywhere. I am starting to assume it is a ribbon cable connection to the GPIO pins on the BBB/PI ??

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,297
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: P10
« Reply #18 on: January 17, 2016, 08:48:59 PM »
1. The Octoscroller is BBB specific.

2. The BBB has two long interface sockets for interfacing various capes. The Octoscroller is a cape.

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 989
  • Kudos: 14
Re: P10
« Reply #19 on: January 18, 2016, 06:01:40 AM »
What JonB said.
At this time, there is an ability for the Pi to control P10 panels as well, but not nearly as many as what the BBB is capable of doing. There are updates for the Pi libraries which Chris will be looking at incorporating into FPP 2.0, so my guess is that we might see a new Pi cape for matrix panels this year, but only time will tell. For now, the best solution would be a BBB with Octoscroller.

Offline lwillisjr

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 91
  • Kudos: 1
Re: P10
« Reply #20 on: January 18, 2016, 06:41:17 AM »

Great, that answered my question. Thanks.

Offline Aesl1982

  • Probation
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 344
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #21 on: January 19, 2016, 10:25:58 AM »
My main thing I'm not getting is. Using the Bbb with octo. How does all this work in conjunction with the rest of your show and stay in sync if Ur using two command stations "bbb for panels, and computer or Pi for falcoln v2s"


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Livermore-Dad

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Nov 2013
  • Location: Livermore, CA
  • Posts: 483
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #22 on: January 19, 2016, 10:37:37 AM »
My main thing I'm not getting is. Using the Bbb with octo. How does all this work in conjunction with the rest of your show and stay in sync if Ur using two command stations "bbb for panels, and computer or Pi for falcoln v2s"


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Maybe what you are missing is the fact that you treat the BBB like a controller, set it in bridge mode and fire off commands to it from the PI?

Tory
I know some stuff. For example i know I don't know anything.
 

Offline Aesl1982

  • Probation
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 344
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #23 on: January 19, 2016, 10:59:16 AM »

My main thing I'm not getting is. Using the Bbb with octo. How does all this work in conjunction with the rest of your show and stay in sync if Ur using two command stations "bbb for panels, and computer or Pi for falcoln v2s"


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Maybe what you are missing is the fact that you treat the BBB like a controller, set it in bridge mode and fire off commands to it from the PI?

Tory
ok so it just connects with Ethernet to the network switch coming off the pi. Same way the falcolns are connected then. And if I wanted more than 64 panels I could use two bbb'a in bridge mode off the switch


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Aesl1982

  • Probation
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 344
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #24 on: January 19, 2016, 11:15:50 AM »
I was wanting to do something like a 7' tall by 15' wide p10 matrix. To cover my garage door. Maybe I'd be better off using regular 2822 and couple pixel nets


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 989
  • Kudos: 14
Re: P10
« Reply #25 on: January 19, 2016, 11:39:46 AM »
I was wanting to do something like a 7' tall by 15' wide p10 matrix. To cover my garage door. Maybe I'd be better off using regular 2822 and couple pixel nets


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yowsa! That's about 14x14 p10 matrix, or 196 p10 panels. If you dropped to 14x13, you'd have 182 p10 panels, which you'd control with 3 BBB/Octo setups. Ambitious; Can't wait to see it! :)

Offline Aesl1982

  • Probation
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 344
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #26 on: January 19, 2016, 11:48:30 AM »

I was wanting to do something like a 7' tall by 15' wide p10 matrix. To cover my garage door. Maybe I'd be better off using regular 2822 and couple pixel nets


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yowsa! That's about 14x14 p10 matrix, or 196 p10 panels. If you dropped to 14x13, you'd have 182 p10 panels, which you'd control with 3 BBB/Octo setups. Ambitious; Can't wait to see it! :)
tah haven't decided yet looking at cost I could use regular 2811 nodes at 1" for 6k oixels or 2" for 3k oixels and be cheaper and less hassle than the p10s.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Aesl1982

  • Probation
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 344
  • Kudos: 0
Re: P10
« Reply #27 on: January 19, 2016, 11:52:18 AM »


I was wanting to do something like a 7' tall by 15' wide p10 matrix. To cover my garage door. Maybe I'd be better off using regular 2822 and couple pixel nets


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yowsa! That's about 14x14 p10 matrix, or 196 p10 panels. If you dropped to 14x13, you'd have 182 p10 panels, which you'd control with 3 BBB/Octo setups. Ambitious; Can't wait to see it! :)
tah haven't decided yet looking at cost I could use regular 2811 nodes at 1" for 15,000 oixels or 2" for 3700 oixels and be cheaper and less hassle than the p10s. Doesn't seem right the numbers. Because going from 2" to 1" spacing should just double the count but it doesn't work that way


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 989
  • Kudos: 14
Re: P10
« Reply #28 on: January 19, 2016, 11:55:16 AM »
If you change the spacing in one direction it's 2x, but in two directions it's 4x.

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,297
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: P10
« Reply #29 on: January 19, 2016, 11:55:37 AM »

I was wanting to do something like a 7' tall by 15' wide p10 matrix. To cover my garage door. Maybe I'd be better off using regular 2822 and couple pixel nets


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Yowsa! That's about 14x14 p10 matrix, or 196 p10 panels. If you dropped to 14x13, you'd have 182 p10 panels, which you'd control with 3 BBB/Octo setups. Ambitious; Can't wait to see it! :)
tah haven't decided yet looking at cost I could use regular 2811 nodes at 1" for 6k oixels or 2" for 3k oixels and be cheaper and less hassle than the p10s.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I have been using a nearly 8ft by 4ft pixel matrix on my garage door for 3 years. 2 inch spacing. WS2811 pixels. 1200 pixels (40 x 30)
It runs from a single Falcon F16v1 controller and a single 12vdc power supply.
It just doesn't get much simpler than that, though perhaps it could be larger!!  I use 10 strings, folding 3 times (in xLights, not the controller)

https://vimeo.com/149528977

 

Back to top