Author Topic: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)  (Read 48904 times)

Offline Mitch09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 17
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #135 on: December 04, 2018, 08:33:13 PM »
I have read through all the posts.  I think that I have tried the various suggestions that others have tried.  Here is my system.


Mac computer connected to Asus RT-AC87R router.
Raspberry Pi 3 connected wirelessly to Asus router.
eth0, static, IP address: 192.168.40.1, Netmask: 255.255.255.0, Gateway: blank. Host DNS server 1: 192.168.1.1, Host DNS server 2: blank
wlan0, stativ, IP address: 192.168.1.40, Netmask: 255.255.255.0, Gateway: 192.168.1.1. Host DNS server: 192.168.1.1, Host DNS server 2: blank
Enabled routing between network interfaces


Raspberry Pi 3 ethernet connects to a Netgear 5 port Gigabit Ethernet Switch GS205v2.
F16v3 connects to switch. static, IP address: 192.168.40.51, net mask: 255.255.255.0, gateway: 192.168.40.1
F4V3 connects to switch, static, IP address: 192.168.40.52, net mask: 255.255.255.0, gateway: 192.168.40.1


I have the falcon hardware monitoring plugin installed and I can read the vitals from both of the boards.


However, I can not access the web page from either F16V3 or F4V3 from my Mac.  I have tried adding a route in the Asus router but confused on exactly what should go in the fields.  It has fields for Network/Host IP, Netmask, Gateway and Metric.  i also tried adding the routes in terminal window as shown in this post.  Neither of these allows me to access falcon controllers.


Thanks in advance for anyone that can provide some suggestions.
Does your static route show up in routing table(Terminal: netstat -rn)?
If not try Terminal: sudo route -n add 192.168.40.51 192.168.1.40
Then check the route table again.

That will get you a static route but not persistent. So a reboot or maybe computer going to sleep will require the sudo route again.
Sometimes it takes a bit for me which is odd. Use chrome if you can and clear the browser cache.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline doubleeaz

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 66
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #136 on: December 04, 2018, 11:02:27 PM »
That made it work.  Thanks for your help.

Offline Mitch09

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 17
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #137 on: December 05, 2018, 06:28:35 AM »
That made it work.  Thanks for your help.
Awesome! Glad you got it working.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline vegasdave2k

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #138 on: January 05, 2019, 01:45:38 PM »
I was able to get this working with an F16v3.  However I cannot get this working with a PixLite 4.  I followed the exact procedure as with the F16v3, but I cant even ping the PixLite via the route. 

Anyone get this setup working with a PixLite?

Offline Bos Lights

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Join Date: Sep 2017
  • Location: Kamloops, BC
  • Posts: 77
  • Kudos: 0
    • BosLights - Light Shows
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #139 on: February 04, 2019, 01:59:32 AM »
Excellent read and very helpful!

In addition to this great piece I would like to share a video about this topic that I think folks might also find very helpfull:
https://youtu.be/g0fOZs6UgXw

 

Back to top