Author Topic: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)  (Read 43578 times)

Offline corydorning

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 138
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #90 on: December 09, 2016, 10:13:26 AM »
Okay, so I'm trying to get all of this setup and I think I'm most of the way there. I can run a traceroute and ping successfully, can access fpp.local, but I can't figure out how to access the F16V2's web interface. My settings are as follows:

Interface: FPP eth0
Mode: Static
IP: 192.168.70.1
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: (empty)

Interface: FPP wlan0
Mode: Static
IP: 192.168.1.70
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1

F16V2
Mode: Static
IP: 192.168.70.2
Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.70.1
DNS: 0.0.0.0

Static Route



To confirm, you enabled Forwarding on the FPP in addition to what you stated?


When you say ping and traceroute, do you mean to the FPP or to the F16V2?


Yes, forwarding has been enabled.


Controller:
  traceroute 192.168.70.2
traceroute to 192.168.70.2 (192.168.70.2), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
 1  192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1)  0.523 ms  0.295 ms  0.286 ms
 2  192.168.1.70 (192.168.1.70)  4.292 ms  5.974 ms  2.378 ms
 3  * * *


FPP:
ping 192.168.70.1
PING 192.168.70.1 (192.168.70.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.70.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=2.199 ms
92 bytes from 192.168.1.1: Redirect Host(New addr: 192.168.1.70)
Vr HL TOS  Len   ID Flg  off TTL Pro  cks      Src      Dst
 4  5  00 0054 39db   0 0000  3f  01 7970 192.168.1.12  192.168.70.1


64 bytes from 192.168.70.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.968 ms
92 bytes from 192.168.1.1: Redirect Host(New addr: 192.168.1.70)
Vr HL TOS  Len   ID Flg  off TTL Pro  cks      Src      Dst
 
 4  5  00 0054 f9a0   0 0000  3f  01 b9aa 192.168.1.12  192.168.70.1

Offline corydorning

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 138
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #91 on: December 09, 2016, 10:15:04 AM »

Offline corydorning

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 138
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #92 on: December 09, 2016, 10:26:55 AM »
delete
« Last Edit: December 09, 2016, 11:16:31 AM by corydorning »

Offline michaelc

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Dec 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 107
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #93 on: December 09, 2016, 11:16:19 AM »
You mention in this thread to be sure to check forwarding on the Pi.  Where exactly is that setting?


It's on the bottom of the Network Settings window in the FPP GUI.


When you say forwarding are you referring to the "Enable Routing Between Network Interfaces" option or something else?  I don't see anything other than that at the bottom.

Offline corydorning

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 138
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #94 on: December 09, 2016, 11:17:09 AM »
You mention in this thread to be sure to check forwarding on the Pi.  Where exactly is that setting?


It's on the bottom of the Network Settings window in the FPP GUI.

When you say forwarding are you referring to the "Enable Routing Between Network Interfaces" option or something else?  I don't see anything other than that at the bottom.

Sorry, yes this is what i meant

Offline ThreeSizes

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: Fulton, MD
  • Posts: 532
  • Kudos: 32
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #95 on: December 09, 2016, 11:23:24 AM »
Okay, so I'm trying to get all of this setup and I think I'm most of the way there. I can run a traceroute and ping successfully, can access fpp.local, but I can't figure out how to access the F16V2's web interface. My settings are as follows:

Interface: FPP eth0
Mode: Static
IP: 192.168.70.1
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: (empty)

Interface: FPP wlan0
Mode: Static
IP: 192.168.1.70
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1

F16V2
Mode: Static
IP: 192.168.70.2
Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.70.1
DNS: 0.0.0.0

Static Route



To confirm, you enabled Forwarding on the FPP in addition to what you stated?


When you say ping and traceroute, do you mean to the FPP or to the F16V2?


Yes, forwarding has been enabled.


Controller:
  traceroute 192.168.70.2
traceroute to 192.168.70.2 (192.168.70.2), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
 1  192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1)  0.523 ms  0.295 ms  0.286 ms
 2  192.168.1.70 (192.168.1.70)  4.292 ms  5.974 ms  2.378 ms
 3  * * *


FPP:
ping 192.168.70.1
PING 192.168.70.1 (192.168.70.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.70.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=2.199 ms
92 bytes from 192.168.1.1: Redirect Host(New addr: 192.168.1.70)
Vr HL TOS  Len   ID Flg  off TTL Pro  cks      Src      Dst
 4  5  00 0054 39db   0 0000  3f  01 7970 192.168.1.12  192.168.70.1


64 bytes from 192.168.70.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.968 ms
92 bytes from 192.168.1.1: Redirect Host(New addr: 192.168.1.70)
Vr HL TOS  Len   ID Flg  off TTL Pro  cks      Src      Dst
 
 4  5  00 0054 f9a0   0 0000  3f  01 b9aa 192.168.1.12  192.168.70.1


What kind of router are you using? We'd had some problems with certain ones before not routing properly.  And that appears to me to be your case with what showed with the traceroute and ping commands. Can you try manually configuring a route on your PC and see if that enables you to access the F16V2. There should be instructions on how to do the manual routes in the beginning of this thread.




"And what happened then? Well, in Whoville they say that the Grinch's small heart grew three sizes that day."

Offline ThreeSizes

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: Fulton, MD
  • Posts: 532
  • Kudos: 32
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #96 on: December 09, 2016, 11:24:26 AM »
You mention in this thread to be sure to check forwarding on the Pi.  Where exactly is that setting?


It's on the bottom of the Network Settings window in the FPP GUI.


When you say forwarding are you referring to the "Enable Routing Between Network Interfaces" option or something else?  I don't see anything other than that at the bottom.


Yes, we then to refer to that option using forwarding as shorthand.




Offline corydorning

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 138
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #97 on: December 09, 2016, 11:29:24 AM »
Okay, so I'm trying to get all of this setup and I think I'm most of the way there. I can run a traceroute and ping successfully, can access fpp.local, but I can't figure out how to access the F16V2's web interface. My settings are as follows:

Interface: FPP eth0
Mode: Static
IP: 192.168.70.1
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: (empty)

Interface: FPP wlan0
Mode: Static
IP: 192.168.1.70
Netmask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.1.1

F16V2
Mode: Static
IP: 192.168.70.2
Mask: 255.255.255.0
Gateway: 192.168.70.1
DNS: 0.0.0.0

Static Route



To confirm, you enabled Forwarding on the FPP in addition to what you stated?


When you say ping and traceroute, do you mean to the FPP or to the F16V2?


Yes, forwarding has been enabled.


Controller:
  traceroute 192.168.70.2
traceroute to 192.168.70.2 (192.168.70.2), 64 hops max, 52 byte packets
 1  192.168.1.1 (192.168.1.1)  0.523 ms  0.295 ms  0.286 ms
 2  192.168.1.70 (192.168.1.70)  4.292 ms  5.974 ms  2.378 ms
 3  * * *


FPP:
ping 192.168.70.1
PING 192.168.70.1 (192.168.70.1): 56 data bytes
64 bytes from 192.168.70.1: icmp_seq=0 ttl=64 time=2.199 ms
92 bytes from 192.168.1.1: Redirect Host(New addr: 192.168.1.70)
Vr HL TOS  Len   ID Flg  off TTL Pro  cks      Src      Dst
 4  5  00 0054 39db   0 0000  3f  01 7970 192.168.1.12  192.168.70.1


64 bytes from 192.168.70.1: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=1.968 ms
92 bytes from 192.168.1.1: Redirect Host(New addr: 192.168.1.70)
Vr HL TOS  Len   ID Flg  off TTL Pro  cks      Src      Dst
 
 4  5  00 0054 f9a0   0 0000  3f  01 b9aa 192.168.1.12  192.168.70.1


What kind of router are you using? We'd had some problems with certain ones before not routing properly.  And that appears to me to be your case with what showed with the traceroute and ping commands. Can you try manually configuring a route on your PC and see if that enables you to access the F16V2. There should be instructions on how to do the manual routes in the beginning of this thread.


I'm using an ASUS RT-N56U router. I'll take a look at the beginning of the thread for manual routes.

Offline ThreeSizes

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: Fulton, MD
  • Posts: 532
  • Kudos: 32
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #98 on: December 09, 2016, 11:53:09 AM »
[I'm using an ASUS RT-N56U router. I'll take a look at the beginning of the thread for manual routes.


Asus brand routers are one of the ones we've issues with doing routing.




Offline Bshaver

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Location: Denver, CO
  • Posts: 1,410
  • Kudos: 22
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #99 on: December 09, 2016, 11:55:05 AM »
I just did this on my PFSENSE enterprise router system today. Wow. doing HEX conversion was fun, but it works! DHCP option 121!
Denver Colorado
45,000 blinky blinks mix of pixels and 130 AC Channels (powered by Minleon & Lynx) ALL Powered by FPP and Falcon!

Offline corydorning

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 138
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #100 on: December 09, 2016, 12:04:45 PM »
[I'm using an ASUS RT-N56U router. I'll take a look at the beginning of the thread for manual routes.


Asus brand routers are one of the ones we've issues with doing routing.


Figures lol. Anyways, this did the trick:
sudo route add 192.168.70.0/24 192.168.1.70


Thanks for the help!

Offline corydorning

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 138
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #101 on: December 09, 2016, 01:29:58 PM »
On second thought, I'm not sure this is working entirely. When I access the controller webpage via 192.168.70.2, I'm not able to save anything.

Offline ThreeSizes

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Dec 2015
  • Location: Fulton, MD
  • Posts: 532
  • Kudos: 32
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #102 on: December 09, 2016, 03:34:40 PM »
On second thought, I'm not sure this is working entirely. When I access the controller webpage via 192.168.70.2, I'm not able to save anything.


Routing is not the first thing I would suspect, if you can browse around to multiple places in the controller webpage and if data on the webpage is updating as you go, like times statistics etc. The function of interacting with a webpage occurs at a much higher level in the network stack. You can verify this by opening a command prompt on your PC and do a continuous ping to the controller. On Mac or Linux, ping is continuous by default, on Windows add -t to the ping command. You should not see any breaks (or lost pings) while you are using the webpage and attempting to update/save your settings.




Offline corydorning

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Nov 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 138
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #103 on: December 12, 2016, 11:46:38 AM »
Everything working. Thanks guys!

Offline JoelRose

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 26
  • Kudos: 0
Re: FPP WiFi Setup (Originally Master + Remotes + WiFi How-To)
« Reply #104 on: December 12, 2016, 05:50:52 PM »
OK my turn,  My head hurts just trying to read this thread.

I made the common mistake of placing everything on 192.168.1.xx

The home network was being flooded and master/remote response was only about 80% even after adding 5 second pauses between songs.

I configured a second router as 192.168.10.xx
It has no physical connection to anything (except when I swap my network connection cable from my pc, no wireless.)

In case the pictures do not come through

FPP is the master and is
eth0  DHCP  (only connected to hub to run wired show, no connection to outside)
WLAN  192.168.10.40

FPP10  is a remote
eth0  DHCP  not even connected.
WLAN  192.168.10.41

FPP6  is a remote  sending 48 channels to an ESP  192.168.10.203 unicast
eth0  DHCP  not even connected
WLAN  192.168.10.42

I can talk to all three devices with no problem.
I can also play sequences from the playlist in standalone mode.
Even the ESP response is smooth being driven from a BBB driving a 64x64 matrix.

But when they are in remote mode there is no output. :(
When they were all on the 192.168.1.XX network they did work, just not all the time.

Has to be something simple,  what did I miss.

Joel

 

Back to top