Author Topic: atx power supply breakout boards  (Read 5120 times)

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Castle Rock, CO
  • Posts: 364
  • Kudos: 8
    • RockinChristmas Facebook Page
Re: atx power supply breakout boards
« Reply #15 on: February 10, 2016, 09:21:43 PM »
I meant  "lead free" ... Which I believe requires much higher temps.

Speaking of breakout boards, I stumbled upon another one on Amazon that was $12.99 + FS and meant to be used with the HP Proliant 800-1000w server power supplies.    The board plugs into the single HP hot swap connector and seems to provide over 80 amps at 12v.   The 1000w Proliant PS was only $18.50 ... And free shipping.   Would this make any sense to use on. Falcon f16v2 to power both 30a banks with plenty of excess amps to spare ... Or a bad idea ... I don't know what I don't know here.

http://www.amazon.com/HP-403781-001-DL380-1000W-Supply/dp/B001U0EM1W/ref=pd_bxgy_23_2?ie=UTF8&refRID=18HH0NE98BSEBNK2S0D8

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B012YNFG6S/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=3KIY0YV96TZPQ&coliid=I1DFE9LVKDVYRX


Offline tbone321

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,589
  • Kudos: 50
Re: atx power supply breakout boards
« Reply #16 on: February 11, 2016, 11:10:59 AM »
These are good supplies and to get them new for that price is pretty cool.  You are not going to get that much kick out of a standard 12V supply for the price.  Those adapters you listed will make life much easier than attempting to solder wires directly to those pins (trust me on that).  These supplies also use the standard PC power plugs (unlike the HP supplies I have) which also makes them easier to connect to AC power.  Please keep in mind that while these power supplies can put out a lot of current, they will be drawing a lot of current to do it and will probably limit you to 2 of these per outlet (depending on how hard you drive them).  These supplies are not weather proof so make sure to keep them dry.

Offline AussiePhil

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 495
  • Kudos: 11
Re: atx power supply breakout boards
« Reply #17 on: February 11, 2016, 03:28:14 PM »
I meant  "lead free" ... Which I believe requires much higher temps.

Speaking of breakout boards, I stumbled upon another one on Amazon that was $12.99 + FS and meant to be used with the HP Proliant 800-1000w server power supplies.    The board plugs into the single HP hot swap connector and seems to provide over 80 amps at 12v.   The 1000w Proliant PS was only $18.50 ... And free shipping.   Would this make any sense to use on. Falcon f16v2 to power both 30a banks with plenty of excess amps to spare ... Or a bad idea ... I don't know what I don't know here.

http://www.amazon.com/HP-403781-001-DL380-1000W-Supply/dp/B001U0EM1W/ref=pd_bxgy_23_2?ie=UTF8&refRID=18HH0NE98BSEBNK2S0D8

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B012YNFG6S/ref=wl_it_dp_o_pC_nS_ttl?_encoding=UTF8&colid=3KIY0YV96TZPQ&coliid=I1DFE9LVKDVYRX

I have a couple of these along with a range of Dell supplies and I still keep using 350W units :), however if your looking for a single supply for a megatree then it would be hard to go past.

Note the supply is only 850W when used on 120v.




Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Castle Rock, CO
  • Posts: 364
  • Kudos: 8
    • RockinChristmas Facebook Page
Re: atx power supply breakout boards
« Reply #18 on: February 11, 2016, 05:09:19 PM »
Thanks Phil .

The 69.9A should work pretty good at handling both 30A sides I would think.

I have NO problem with the $19 supplies ... other than the shipping costs.

I'd be curious if anyone has had any reliability issues with these or not.  Is the size
horrible?






Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,943
  • Kudos: 80
Re: atx power supply breakout boards
« Reply #19 on: February 11, 2016, 05:12:06 PM »
My only thought is a single connector may not be rated for 30A. May need to use more than one.

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Castle Rock, CO
  • Posts: 364
  • Kudos: 8
    • RockinChristmas Facebook Page
Re: atx power supply breakout boards
« Reply #20 on: February 11, 2016, 05:26:40 PM »
Well, and white these seem to have good reviews.  Many of reviews talk about a very high failure rate for these, some mentioning 75% failure rate ... which would explain the low cost.

David, which connector are you concerned with specifically?

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,943
  • Kudos: 80
Re: atx power supply breakout boards
« Reply #21 on: February 11, 2016, 05:39:27 PM »
The terminals on the adapter board

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk


Offline AussiePhil

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 495
  • Kudos: 11
Re: atx power supply breakout boards
« Reply #22 on: February 11, 2016, 05:39:40 PM »
Thanks Phil .
The 69.9A should work pretty good at handling both 30A sides I would think.
I have NO problem with the $19 supplies ... other than the shipping costs.
I'd be curious if anyone has had any reliability issues with these or not.  Is the size
horrible?

These are Server supplies they will run forever.... however they also have really really really LOUD fans....

Need to double check but fairly certain the G5 versions are very compact and are half the width and same length as a 350w supply.

My only thought is a single connector may not be rated for 30A. May need to use more than one.

Soldering direct to the power supply output connectors can be done but you need a BIG iron, using the breakout board you will need to use multiple terminals for connections as it terminals on the breackout board look like 10A ones

Well, and white these seem to have good reviews.  Many of reviews talk about a very high failure rate for these, some mentioning 75% failure rate ... which would explain the low cost.

I find the failure rate astounding from the reviews.... more like they bought one then had no idea how to connect or use it


Offline pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 1,430
  • Kudos: 45
Re: atx power supply breakout boards
« Reply #23 on: February 11, 2016, 06:43:31 PM »
The description says its 11"x7"x6" which sounds to me like it won't fit in a CG1500.  But I like them and think they're very good supplies if you're willing to use bigger enclosures.
« Last Edit: February 11, 2016, 07:08:05 PM by pixelpuppy »
-Mark

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Castle Rock, CO
  • Posts: 364
  • Kudos: 8
    • RockinChristmas Facebook Page
Re: atx power supply breakout boards
« Reply #24 on: February 11, 2016, 07:27:36 PM »
Not using cg1500 personally but my Dad likes designing custom things and then building them ... Then mass producing as many as we need.    I'm more of a battery box person myself.   I've got. Lot of them, many oversize ones but they need additional blizzard proofing as I took on some snow this year.

Offline taybrynn

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Castle Rock, CO
  • Posts: 364
  • Kudos: 8
    • RockinChristmas Facebook Page
Re: atx power supply breakout boards
« Reply #25 on: May 20, 2016, 12:18:55 PM »
Can anyone verify actual dimensions for one of these 1000w proliant power supplies?


11x7x6 seems a little doubtful to me


I can see 11" long, but is 7x6 accurate?

 

Back to top