Author Topic: Tinning wires  (Read 568 times)

Offline uzelessknowledge

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Alabaster, AL
  • Posts: 558
  • Kudos: 2

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,096
  • Kudos: 117
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Tinning wires
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2016, 10:10:59 AM »
This last Halloween season, when I put my 8 channel monster faces out, two of four acted crazy. Intermittent lighting, flickering, or just dead.

These were Lynx Express AC controllers. I had used tinned power cord ends into the screw clamp block. When I looked closely, two wires were pulled completely out and others were visibly loose. ALL of them were physically loose, needing as much as a full turn to tighten.

Now, they will eventually stop creeping and loosening, so your call on whether to cut off and "go bare."
I checked all my AC boards and that was the only one with tinned leads. The ones with bare leads were not loose on any boards.

Offline rlemery

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location: Morganton,NC
  • Posts: 370
  • Kudos: 5
Re: Tinning wires
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2016, 10:15:00 AM »
I use these on all connections after finding lose tined wires. There is also a 17$ crimping tool on amazon.
Generic Wire Copper Crimp Connector Insulated Ferrule Pin Cord End Terminal Kit Box Multicolour https://www.amazon.com/dp/B00SMIRKB4/ref=cm_sw_r_other_apa_Ma3kxb16V9D8D

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

728 lor channels
5492 pixels

Offline Aesl1982

  • Probation
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 344
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Tinning wires
« Reply #3 on: May 05, 2016, 11:01:22 AM »
Those are what I bought as well and they worked very well


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Back to top