Author Topic: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure  (Read 4785 times)

Offline rstehle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 250
  • Kudos: 1
My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« on: June 25, 2016, 05:07:26 PM »
I have added two of the F16V2's to my collection this year in addition to the Sandevices Controllers I have been using. The F16's will be driving my House Outlines and Pixel Floods, all 16 outlets on both. I'm using 2" spacing on all of the Pixels so the power draw really adds up, and I will have to power inject on many of the strings. This required mounting 2 Power Supplies in each enclosure. I didn't feel that the CG-1500 would provide enough room to run 2 PS at fairly high draw, (really didn't want to have to use 2 for each setup) so I went a different direction. I purchased 2 Bud model 32026 (19x15x6) Enclosures on Amazon which gives plenty of room for everything. I used 2 of Andy's power distribution boards to handle the power injection. One half of each controller, and 1 of the power distro boards is driven off of one 12v 30 amp supply. Both PS's run off of one 14 ga. 120v input cable. (my outdoor power outlets are all 20 amp) All of the internal wiring is 12 ga. Here are a couple of pics to show how they turned out. As you can see, I added the channel LED's to the boards, and a chineseum voltmeter to show the output of each PS.


Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 76
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #1 on: June 25, 2016, 05:47:04 PM »
Sweet.

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline Bill Ellick

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location: Long Lake, NY
  • Posts: 106
  • Kudos: 1
    • Long Lake Lights
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #2 on: June 25, 2016, 05:49:47 PM »
Nice job, looks great!

Offline Phrog30

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: May 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 390
  • Kudos: 8
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #3 on: June 25, 2016, 07:18:23 PM »
Very nice.

Sent from my SM-G900V using Tapatalk


Offline blantrip

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2014
  • Location:
  • Posts: 6
  • Kudos: 0
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #4 on: June 26, 2016, 08:47:32 PM »
Very professional looking.

Offline AAH

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Jul 2014
  • Location: Australia
  • Posts: 717
  • Kudos: 19
  • Blinky blinky blinky
    • I love blinky lights
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #5 on: June 27, 2016, 03:18:19 AM »
Very nice tidy looking build.
If you're not using a fan on 1 of the 2 vents you may need to keep an eye on the temperature inside the enclosure. With both vents being the same height from the bottom you can't rely on convection to provide some air flow. 1 vent right at the top and 1 right at the bottom provides the best convection cooling but fan forced is much much better.

Offline Rod R

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: Campbell, CA
  • Posts: 44
  • Kudos: 2
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #6 on: June 28, 2016, 08:12:50 PM »
Nice, I like how clean you did the install.

Offline Gerry

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2014
  • Location: Melbourne,Australia
  • Posts: 269
  • Kudos: 3
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #7 on: June 28, 2016, 08:50:11 PM »
Very nice. I wish I could be 1/2 as neat  :(
Gerry

Offline bdw1980

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: May 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 2
  • Kudos: 0
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #8 on: July 19, 2016, 06:55:05 PM »
Are those the correct dimensions for that box that you give 19x15x6? I searched for that model and its showing 15-47/64" L x 11-51/64" W x 6-9/32" H for model 32026?
here is the link from amazon https://www.amazon.com/BUD-Industries-NBF-32026-Plastic-Economy/dp/B005T94MQU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1468975847&sr=8-1&keywords=32026

Offline rstehle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 250
  • Kudos: 1
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #9 on: July 19, 2016, 10:13:47 PM »
Are those the correct dimensions for that box that you give 19x15x6? I searched for that model and its showing 15-47/64" L x 11-51/64" W x 6-9/32" H for model 32026?
here is the link from amazon https://www.amazon.com/BUD-Industries-NBF-32026-Plastic-Economy/dp/B005T94MQU/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1468975847&sr=8-1&keywords=32026

Oops, you are correct.

Offline Emuney18

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 569
  • Kudos: 7
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2016, 01:53:27 PM »
Do you have fusing between the PS and the F16V2R?

Offline rstehle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 250
  • Kudos: 1
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #11 on: August 30, 2016, 02:11:17 PM »
Do you have fusing between the PS and the F16V2R?

No, IMO it is not necessary.  Many will disagree........

Offline jnealand

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Aug 2013
  • Location: Kennesaw, GA
  • Posts: 2,919
  • Kudos: 68
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #12 on: August 30, 2016, 06:29:12 PM »
Do you have fusing between the PS and the F16V2R?

No, IMO it is not necessary.  Many will disagree........

Not that many, I think more disagree than want to do it.  I've never done it - knock on wood, LOL
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline Emuney18

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 569
  • Kudos: 7
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #13 on: August 30, 2016, 07:18:57 PM »
Do you have fusing between the PS and the F16V2R?

No, IMO it is not necessary.  Many will disagree........

Not that many, I think more disagree than want to do it.  I've never done it - knock on wood, LOL
I agree and maybe it's my misunderstanding but the fuses protect the wire so I'm not sure how they would protect the controller.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Offline Emuney18

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location: Apex, NC
  • Posts: 569
  • Kudos: 7
Re: My F16V2-R in it's new Enclosure
« Reply #14 on: September 01, 2016, 08:05:26 AM »
Can I get a clarification on something. Do we need to tie the grounds together when we use 2 power supplies, 1 for each input on the Falcon?  In other words can we keep both sides of the board completely isolated from each other and be good. I am not talking about power injection downstream from the board I understand that.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

 

Back to top