Author Topic: Newbie needing help with Pi GPOI test  (Read 1764 times)

Offline Cjlocey

• Kudos: 1
Newbie needing help with Pi GPOI test
« on: July 23, 2016, 12:26:19 PM »
I am new to this and I want bought a string of 5V ws2811 RGB pixels and I saw this guys setup https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RmvGwt0vApo and want to duplicate it to show my wife in hope to get her buy in to make a large investment on a matrix setup.
I have FPP loaded on  Pi 3 but I have an old Pi 2 and a few Zero's if it would be easier to use any of the other units.  And yes I have searched hi and lo to try to find something on this forum.

Thanks and you all are AMAZING!
Curt
Running display on pi's with picaps.....no controllers
Some said it could not be done!  4245 pixels and growing!
xLights & FPP - marriage made in pixel heaven

Offline jnealand

• Developer
  • Kudos: 68
Re: Newbie needing help with Pi GPOI test
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2016, 02:25:55 PM »
Would be simpler to just use one of these.  https://www.crockettfantasyoflights.com/product/pixel-pihat-rev-c/

Too easy to fry your Pi if you are a newbie and using GPIO in my opinion.
Jim Nealand
Kennesaw, GA all Falcon controllers, all 12v Master Remote Multisync with Pi and BBB P10 and P5

Offline tbone321

• Kudos: 50
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2016, 07:50:02 PM »
You are going to need a few components before attempting this.  Even though the PI can supply 5V, it really doesn't supply enough current for more than a few nodes so you will need a 5V power supply.  You will also need a few female breadboard jumper wires to connect to the PI's GPIO pins.  If you are using the PI Zero, you would either need to purchase and solder in the 40 pin header or solder wires directly to the board.  You also will need the PI's pinout diagram because the numbering system can be a bit confusing and as Jim said, it can be easy to fry the PI if you confuse pins and connect to the wrong ones.  Once you have these, connecting it up is pretty easy.