Author Topic: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.  (Read 11052 times)

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,924
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #15 on: September 22, 2016, 10:37:14 PM »
PI B+, Pi2, Pi3.

Yes it can power PI
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,645
  • Kudos: 199
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #16 on: September 23, 2016, 09:03:11 PM »
PI B+, Pi2, Pi3.

And Zero I assume, due to the mounting hole positions in the board.  The Zero supports the WS281x outputs as well so it should work fine with this board.
-
Chris

Offline blk69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 43
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #17 on: September 26, 2016, 09:56:36 AM »
First step into pixel control is the Pi cap I have on order.  Just bought a Ras pi 3 B.  Will be installing FFP.  Are their any user manuals available for the Pi Cap?  What other documentation should I download to assist with setting this unit up and understanding Falcon controllers?  Will be using Xlights for sequence.

Any help greatly appreciated.

Offline pixelpuppy

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Dallas, TX
  • Posts: 1,326
  • Kudos: 41
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #18 on: September 26, 2016, 10:03:21 AM »
First step into pixel control is the Pi cap I have on order.  Just bought a Ras pi 3 B.  Will be installing FFP.  Are their any user manuals available for the Pi Cap?  What other documentation should I download to assist with setting this unit up and understanding Falcon controllers?  Will be using Xlights for sequence.
All control of the PiCap is done in the FPP.  So first thing is to get familiar with FPP.   If you are just starting out then you will probably want to start with FPP in bridge mode and drive the pixels with xLights outputting E1.31 to FPP in bridge mode.


Later on you can explore the glorious wonders of using FPP as a show player in either "standalone" or "master/remote" modes  :D
-Mark

Offline hearbear

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #19 on: September 28, 2016, 03:56:05 AM »
Hello all ready interested in the pi hat I was wondering would you ship to the UK if so what cost for the shipping?

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,924
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #20 on: September 28, 2016, 04:33:19 AM »
Sorry I only ship to US. But you could use Shipito.com and have them forward it to your for a couple bucks + normal shipping.

Offline blk69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 43
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #21 on: October 07, 2016, 07:56:02 PM »
Do we have a ship date on the pi caps?

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,924
  • Kudos: 76
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #22 on: October 07, 2016, 08:10:21 PM »
It will be in about two weeks. All China went on holiday for last week.


Offline blk69

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Sep 2016
  • Location:
  • Posts: 43
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #23 on: October 08, 2016, 04:30:51 PM »
Ok great.  Glad it wasn't a two week Holiday.  Have some sequences to make!

Offline Setarcos

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Jan 2015
  • Location: San Jose, CA
  • Posts: 323
  • Kudos: 6
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #24 on: October 11, 2016, 02:36:04 PM »
I'm happy to get my hands on at least one of these as well. One PiCap is destined for our indoor Christmas tree that I am planning to convert to pixels this year and sync with the show outside ;)

Offline hotrod1965

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Nov 2015
  • Location:
  • Posts: 21
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #25 on: October 22, 2016, 10:41:42 AM »
Any update?

Offline kmc123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2016
  • Location: Charlotte, NC
  • Posts: 39
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #26 on: October 22, 2016, 12:22:32 PM »
Hi David,

I see on the order page that it says "Can control two strings 800+ WS2811 pixels with fused and buffered outputs."

I want to do a Mega Tree with 1800 pixels (24 strands of 75 pixels each) and would split that into 2 sets of 900.

When you say 800+, How much is the plus? :)  Can I drive 900 per output?

Thanks!


Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,645
  • Kudos: 199
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #27 on: October 22, 2016, 04:34:53 PM »
There is a thread where someone was testing the max number of pixels they could drive from the Pi.  I don't remember what the title was.  I you search for "rpiws281x" you will probably find it.  I think he was able to get around 1000 but your mileage may vary, that is why David set the number lower in his description.  If the Pi is doing a lot of other stuff, the number could be lower.

Offline kmc123

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Apr 2016
  • Location: Charlotte, NC
  • Posts: 39
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #28 on: October 23, 2016, 10:06:18 AM »
Thank You!

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,645
  • Kudos: 199
Re: Taking orders for Falcon PiCap.
« Reply #29 on: October 23, 2016, 01:30:47 PM »
I still can't find the thread, but in the FPP UI, we limit the max # of pixels per string in the RPIWS281x Channel Output to 1000 since I believe there were issues experienced in testing with 1050-1100 pixels on an output.

 

Back to top