Author Topic: Pi cap dmx port  (Read 1044 times)

Offline Sims6127

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Fort worth Tx
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Pi cap dmx port
« on: November 22, 2016, 11:38:58 AM »
So you cant set the dmx port to a universe?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,297
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Pi cap dmx port
« Reply #1 on: November 22, 2016, 12:41:21 PM »
DMX is, by design, "a universe."  512 channels

You set the Start Channel for that Universe. Usually  1 or 513 or 1025.  Those would be Universe 1, Universe 2 and Universe 3 if you think about it that way.

Offline Sims6127

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Fort worth Tx
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Pi cap dmx port
« Reply #2 on: November 22, 2016, 02:02:55 PM »
ok so I have 37 universes so for the pi cap dmx port I set the start to 18946 with 16 for channel count right
I do that and go to test display on pi and put start channel at 18946 and just to test I leave the last channel off 18961
when I do that all channel on ac control come on By the way I am using a lynx express controller

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,297
  • Kudos: 126
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: Pi cap dmx port
« Reply #3 on: November 23, 2016, 09:37:17 AM »
For universe 37, I get 18433 as the start channel
 ((37 - 1) x 512) + 1

Offline Sims6127

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Dec 2014
  • Location: Fort worth Tx
  • Posts: 7
  • Kudos: 0
Re: Pi cap dmx port
« Reply #4 on: November 23, 2016, 06:25:46 PM »
The problem was I needed 38 universes 37 is what was active display The simple things are over looked http://falconchristmas.com/forum/Smileys/default/lipsrsealed.gif Thanks for the help

 

Back to top