Author Topic: 2 Output not working on F16B  (Read 903 times)

Offline abrianbaker

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location: DFW - Justin
  • Posts: 103
  • Kudos: 1
2 Output not working on F16B
« on: December 05, 2016, 02:04:34 PM »
For some reason on my f-16b port number 3 & 7 have stopped out putting lights. Up to this point everything has worked fine. I have checked the strings on other ports and they work so I know it is not the string. Just for grins I reimaged the BBB with a fresh install and I am still not getting any lights from Port  3 & 7. I checked voltage on both ports and am getting 12 volts out. Is there something else I can check and or replace?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk
« Last Edit: December 05, 2016, 02:14:56 PM by abrianbaker »

Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,082
  • Kudos: 12
Re: 2 Output not working on F16B
« Reply #1 on: December 05, 2016, 08:12:11 PM »
You don't have the serial option selected in the dropdown do you?  I believe when you use the serial output (pixelnet/dmx) it disables port 3 and 7 to use for that output for the serial

Offline abrianbaker

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location: DFW - Justin
  • Posts: 103
  • Kudos: 1
Re: 2 Output not working on F16B
« Reply #2 on: December 06, 2016, 07:13:28 AM »
Sure do lol... I'll check that tonight.  Thanks!

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk


Offline abrianbaker

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location: DFW - Justin
  • Posts: 103
  • Kudos: 1
Re: 2 Output not working on F16B
« Reply #3 on: December 11, 2016, 12:39:06 PM »
Is it possible to use any of the serial outputs and still use all of the BBB outputs?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G935A using Tapatalk


Online CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,836
  • Kudos: 214
Re: 2 Output not working on F16B
« Reply #4 on: December 11, 2016, 12:50:39 PM »
Is it possible to use any of the serial outputs and still use all of the BBB outputs?

Not currently, the Serial output code and the String output code run on separate PRU's on the BBB.  FPP uses a library called LEDscape for most of this code along with Serial code mostly written by David.  With the amount of data the PRU code for strings pulls and pushes, it wasn't playing nice with anything else running at the same time, so I had to create a neutered version of the string code to get it to work with the serial code without flickering.  This neutered version only uses GPIO2 and doesn't use GPIO0, GPIO1, or GPIO3.  Two of the first 16 string outputs are in GPIO0 so they can't work with the serial code enabled.  The string code is really written in a way so that it expects to be the only thing running, it consumes a lot of resources.  I do have a few other optimizations in mind, so hopefully for next year, we will be able to have 16 or 32 string outputs working along with the 8 serial outputs.\

If you only need 1-2 serial outputs, you can always attach a USB serial dongle to the BBB and get Pixelnet or DMX output.
-
Chris

Offline abrianbaker

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location: DFW - Justin
  • Posts: 103
  • Kudos: 1
Re: 2 Output not working on F16B
« Reply #5 on: December 11, 2016, 01:03:06 PM »
Thank you Chris

 

Back to top