Author Topic: F16 5V capability  (Read 3955 times)

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 891
  • Kudos: 13
Re: F16 5V capability
« Reply #15 on: August 06, 2015, 07:39:57 AM »
Very good idea.

Are you going to cap the top of them, or leave them open?
With the 4" - 1/2" reductions you are doing, the upper section could fill up pretty quickly. 

Thoughts?
Sequencers: Vixen3 and xLights
Players: FPP and xSchedule Controllers:  Renards - SS24/SS16; E1.31 - San Devices E682 - Falcon F16, F4, F48 - J1Sys - DIYLEDExpress E1.31 Bridges.  Much more!

Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: F16 5V capability
« Reply #16 on: August 06, 2015, 08:06:36 AM »
Video here:

http://youtu.be/A4ihJRnDMbQ

Great tree Topper-
 So it looks looks like you are using 1 cat5 cable for 2 outputs to the topper. If so can you sketch out a connection diagram and post that or just PM me, but I think others may find it useful.

Pat
thanks for showing this pat...  there's a lot of good stuff in there.

i like what you are doing, but it doesn't answer my question about how to run F8v1 and F16v1 with 5v exclusively.    In the video you use 12v for half the board and 5v for the other half...  a standard feature.  you could use all 16 ports at 5v if you relied on power-injection concepts to use the data signal for the 12v ports but the power from the other supply.

i'm trying to use F8v1 without 12v and no power injection.  I'm trying to run a prop with a single 5v supply to power my FPP, the controller, and the 5v pixels... and also trying to leverage the on-board fuses.

So, still looking for alterations to F8v1 (and F16v1 is good to know) so that I can run 5v exclusively.

Thanks!
http://WinterLightShow.com  |  110K channels, 50K lights  |  Nutcracker, Falcon, DLA, HolidayCoro

Offline gadgetsmith

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Charlton, NY
  • Posts: 989
  • Kudos: 14
Re: F16 5V capability
« Reply #17 on: August 06, 2015, 09:08:27 AM »

Great tree Topper-
 So it looks looks like you are using 1 cat5 cable for 2 outputs to the topper. If so can you sketch out a connection diagram and post that or just PM me, but I think others may find it useful.

Pat

Pat, don't want to clutter this thread, so I put what I do for this situation.  This guy was an inspiration for this type of wiring, and also the sphere topper I made.  Thanks mms!
http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php/topic,2688.0.html

... now back to figuring out how to convert both sides of the F16 to 5v!

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: F16 5V capability
« Reply #18 on: August 06, 2015, 11:37:51 AM »
Steve. Two mods. Cut out small diode and jumper across where it was. Then pull out 5v regulator. Then jumper from input to output pin on regulator pads. The regulator is standard 7805 pinouts

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: F16 5V capability
« Reply #19 on: August 06, 2015, 11:46:12 AM »
Steve. Two mods. Cut out small diode and jumper across where it was. Then pull out 5v regulator. Then jumper from input to output pin on regulator pads. The regulator is standard 7805 pinouts

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk

thanks, david.  still need a bit more... :)

the diode... that's D9, right?
why the need to cut out the diode? ...wouldn't the jumper bypass the diode?

so the regulator is the 7805 (and not the LD33)?
since it has 3 pins, which is input and which is output as I look at the frint of the  board and have the pins coming out towards the bottom of the board?
and the same question... why the need to remove the regulator if I am jumpering around it?

the reason I ask about the need to remove parts is so that the board might be returned to a 12v solution if ever needed.

thanks!

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: F16 5V capability
« Reply #20 on: August 06, 2015, 11:52:43 AM »
I do not have a board in front of me. There is only one diode so that is easy to find. As far as regulator i would not tie input and output together. I would remove it. Not sure about leaving diode in. Both modes can run without it. You just lose reverse protection with 12v without it. As far as pinouts it is the most common regulator found Mouser has a data sheet. Later i may be able to download data sheet or board layout.

Sent from my LGLS990 using Tapatalk


Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: F16 5V capability
« Reply #21 on: August 06, 2015, 12:25:27 PM »
On the regulator. Regulator pads 1 and 3 should be tied together after regulator is removed. See datasheet.
http://www.mouser.com/ds/2/389/CD00000444-249828.pdf

The package is TO-220.

Offline Steve Gase

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Georgetown, TX (near Austin)
  • Posts: 1,037
  • Kudos: 5
    • WinterLightShow in Georgetown, TX
Re: F16 5V capability
« Reply #22 on: August 06, 2015, 09:12:36 PM »
That worked!  Thanks, David!!

Attaching photo of the mod to the F8v1-5v ...

  • Diode at D9 was removed, and jumper installed in its place
  • 7805 was removed, and jumper installed from pinhole #1 to pinhole #3
Note: All controller LEDs will light at 5v, blue activity, power, and fuses.

 

Back to top