Author Topic: Extreme Newbie Alert!!  (Read 1574 times)

Offline agengler11

• Kudos: 0
Extreme Newbie Alert!!
« on: January 02, 2017, 12:19:28 AM »
Thanks in advance for helping me. I am very new to the extreme lights display scene. I want to create all of my decoration pieces and have them all be self contained with a controller built in with only Cat6 and power coming from the backs of them. I built my first mega tree with a 16 strands of 32 12 MM nodes and I want to build much much more including Coro stuff. Is there a controller that can handle smaller decorations like with only one 100 node light set or do I have to keep buying 150 dollar 4 channel  boards.

I want to keep everything E1.31 because I am a network guy buy please tell me if I am going about this all wrong.

Offline Bill Ellick

• Kudos: 1
    • Long Lake Lights
Re: Extreme Newbie Alert!!
« Reply #1 on: January 02, 2017, 06:36:06 AM »
I too am looking at keeping a lot of my display items "self-contained" with only power having to go to them.  Right now I am running all LOR but am going to change over to XLights, FPP, and a Pi and start adding pixels.  I want to keep my LOR stuff as I have 272 channels of it running 80% LEDs that cost a good amount so why throw away something that works!

I bought some ESPixelSticks to run separate items.  I have not gotten to testing yet but from what others have reported, I don't see why they won't work great.
Here is a link to the DIY Forum on the last group buy for them.  You can get a lot of info there and from Shelby's site.
http://doityourselfchristmas.com/forums/showthread.php?43773-ESPixelStick-V2-Group-Buy-E1-31-WiFi-Pixel-Controller-kit