Author Topic: SSCv4 vs falcon controller  (Read 10475 times)

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 994
  • Kudos: 13
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #30 on: January 13, 2014, 12:31:29 PM »
I did a bunch of testing with different resistor values for V3 but was testing for flickering with flex strips.  I saw no difference at all in swapping values.  Would love to see results of your testing.  If the F16 does 25', it would be a huge advantage over the SSC and game changer for me. 

Would running in test mode be sufficient for first node distance testing? 
Sam
 Last year's video: https://vimeo.com/150560653

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #31 on: January 13, 2014, 01:42:41 PM »
I did a bunch of testing with different resistor values for V3 but was testing for flickering with flex strips.  I saw no difference at all in swapping values.  Would love to see results of your testing.  If the F16 does 25', it would be a huge advantage over the SSC and game changer for me. 

Would running in test mode be sufficient for first node distance testing?
I ran 20-22' from the falcon-16 to the start of the first light. Both 1809 flex and ws2811 12v seemed to work fine.
Sean
Littleton, CO Latest releases http://nutcracker123.com/nutcracker/releases xLights/Nutcracker Forum http://nutcracker123.com/forum/index.php Facebook [url=https://www.facebook.com/groups

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 994
  • Kudos: 13
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #32 on: January 13, 2014, 02:26:03 PM »
Great.  That's real encouraging. 

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,942
  • Kudos: 80
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #33 on: January 13, 2014, 02:31:33 PM »
I find you get further distance when using strips for some reason. I was able to only go about 15-20 feet when using regular 1809 bullet nodes. Although test mode is great for testing the LEDS themselves, when testing distance it is better to have a real effect being driven so you can also test that the data is refreshing at a fast rate too.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline arw01

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 891
  • Kudos: 0
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #34 on: January 13, 2014, 02:52:06 PM »
Those of use looking to push the distance should get a few of the new pixels with heat sinks on them, seal them up real nice and use them as a node on the display X number of feet in.  They would just be a bump in the string and should redo the data so we can move along further.

I'm looking at some for a matrix anyways.

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/WS2812B-led-with-heatsink-10mm-3mm-DC5V-input-5050-SMD-RGB-with-WS2811-ic-built-in/701799_1342923150.html

Alan

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 994
  • Kudos: 13
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #35 on: January 14, 2014, 08:03:36 AM »
Seems like I recall that the resistor network for each string in the F16 was "swappable" to allow users to change values to accommodate longer distances to first node.  Any truth to this? 

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,942
  • Kudos: 80
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #36 on: January 14, 2014, 11:18:06 AM »
Seems like I recall that the resistor network for each string in the F16 was "swappable" to allow users to change values to accommodate longer distances to first node.  Any truth to this?

Yes. But the default value of 100 omhs seems to go far. I have tried 51ohms too but not much difference.

Offline smeighan

  • Developer
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Highlands Ranch, Colorado
  • Posts: 1,035
  • Kudos: 11
    • Nutcracker123
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #37 on: January 14, 2014, 11:34:57 AM »
Those of use looking to push the distance should get a few of the new pixels with heat sinks on them, seal them up real nice and use them as a node on the display X number of feet in.  They would just be a bump in the string and should redo the data so we can move along further.

I'm looking at some for a matrix anyways.

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/WS2812B-led-with-heatsink-10mm-3mm-DC5V-input-5050-SMD-RGB-with-WS2811-ic-built-in/701799_1342923150.html

Alan

How to handle null nodes in xlights:

suppose i have 8 arches and they are 40' away from my falcon-16. i go 20' and put in a pixel, maybe wrapped in black shrink sleeve. continue another 20' for a total cable length of 40'. there is a bump in the middle of this 40' cable

if i made 8 arches of 100 nodes starting on channel 1

i would get this for the channel layout.
arch 1, 1-100
arch 2, 101-200
arch 3, 201-300
.etc.

now if i click "individual start chans"

i would change them to be
arch 1, 2-101
arch 2, 103-202
arch 3, 204-303
.etc.

this skips the null node. now, all effects will work correctly and the null nodes will never be sent any data to display.

we could make a prompt for how many null pixels start each of your strings and fill the table in automatically

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,942
  • Kudos: 80
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #38 on: January 14, 2014, 11:37:15 AM »
Those of use looking to push the distance should get a few of the new pixels with heat sinks on them, seal them up real nice and use them as a node on the display X number of feet in.  They would just be a bump in the string and should redo the data so we can move along further.

I'm looking at some for a matrix anyways.

http://www.aliexpress.com/store/product/WS2812B-led-with-heatsink-10mm-3mm-DC5V-input-5050-SMD-RGB-with-WS2811-ic-built-in/701799_1342923150.html

Alan

How to handle null nodes in xlights:

suppose i have 8 arches and they are 40' away from my falcon-16. i go 20' and put in a pixel, maybe wrapped in black shrink sleeve. continue another 20' for a total cable length of 40'. there is a bump in the middle of this 40' cable

if i made 8 arches of 100 nodes starting on channel 1

i would get this for the channel layout.
arch 1, 1-100
arch 2, 101-200
arch 3, 201-300
.etc.

now if i click "individual start chans"

i would change them to be
arch 1, 2-101
arch 2, 103-202
arch 3, 204-303
.etc.

this skips the null node. now, all effects will work correctly and the null nodes will never be sent any data to display.

we could make a prompt for how many null pixels start each of your strings and fill the table in automatically

I will be handling the use of null nodes in new control panel and firmware on a string by string basis. There should be no need to do anything special in Nutcracker.

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 994
  • Kudos: 13
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #39 on: January 14, 2014, 11:47:08 AM »
Is it possible to put all rgb iterations/options in the new CP?  I could not find a match for the color order for rear entry square nodes.  I thought they would have been the same as the bullets but they weren't... 

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,942
  • Kudos: 80
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #40 on: January 14, 2014, 11:48:33 AM »
Yes we will but still have a reference table for most pixels to date.

Offline zwiller

  • Falcon Beta Team
  • **
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Sandusky, OH
  • Posts: 994
  • Kudos: 13
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #41 on: January 14, 2014, 12:29:59 PM »
Perfect!

Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,114
  • Kudos: 12
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #42 on: January 21, 2014, 12:53:31 PM »
Doing some testing and so far I'm loving the falcon firmware.  Why because I don't have to move the darn jumper to try all the combos to get to the right one for my 2811 rectangle modules (which don't have the right combo on the DLA firmware) that and a built in test without having to load a different firmware.  Awesome job, keep up the great work.

:)

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,942
  • Kudos: 80
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #43 on: January 21, 2014, 01:01:13 PM »
Twooly you are the first to report back on the sscv4 firmware. So it is working?

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk


Offline twooly

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Oct 2013
  • Location:
  • Posts: 1,114
  • Kudos: 12
Re: SSCv4 vs falcon controller
« Reply #44 on: January 21, 2014, 01:07:21 PM »
Twooly you are the first to report back on the sscv4 firmware. So it is working?

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk

Yepper so far no issues to report.  Ill give it some more go here in a little bit.

--Todd

 

Back to top