Author Topic: What is needed to run the software?  (Read 1066 times)

Offline George34

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 9
  • Kudos: 0
What is needed to run the software?
« on: January 26, 2017, 03:57:58 PM »
Im abt to buy a laptop to have one dedicated to just the lights.  I plan on using Vixen or Xmaslights(i think that's the other one is called) . so what do i need to run it?   Like windows 7 or better ... Can i use a tablet... Chrome?  Any info would be appreciated.

Thx
George

Offline rlemery

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Feb 2015
  • Location: Morganton,NC
  • Posts: 370
  • Kudos: 5
Re: What is needed to run the software?
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2017, 04:31:05 PM »
The Fpp software runs on a raspberry pi or Beaglebone black. I prefer xlight's software for sequencing.  Www.Xlights.org for the software and manual. As far as the laptop goes it's only used for the sequencing. The Pi or Beaglebone run the show. I use a laptop with an i7 processor.  I sure a laptop with an i5 processor  would also work. There's lots of information under getting started in the Fpp section of the forum.

Sent from my SM-G920V using Tapatalk

728 lor channels
5492 pixels

Offline rstehle

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Join Date: Aug 2015
  • Location: Colorado Springs
  • Posts: 253
  • Kudos: 1
Re: What is needed to run the software?
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2017, 05:31:09 PM »
You can run your show from your Laptop as well, you don't need to use a Raspberry Pi.  I5 or AMD Quad Core is plenty horsepower, but try for as much RAM as you can. 

Offline George34

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location:
  • Posts: 9
  • Kudos: 0
Re: What is needed to run the software?
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2017, 09:03:09 PM »
Ok...  That's what i ment.   Can the sequencing be done using a laptop that runs on Chrome OS?

Offline JonB256

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Granbury, Texas
  • Posts: 5,303
  • Kudos: 127
    • Granbury Christmas Lights
Re: What is needed to run the software?
« Reply #4 on: January 28, 2017, 06:57:49 AM »
Ok...  That's what i ment.   Can the sequencing be done using a laptop that runs on Chrome OS?

No. Nobody has it working that I've heard and I don't know anybody actively trying to make xLights run on Chrome OS

 

Back to top