Author Topic: PiCap and Renard ss24  (Read 1478 times)

Offline tgodfrey

• Kudos: 0
PiCap and Renard ss24
« on: February 12, 2017, 11:23:06 PM »
I'm new to this so be gentle.

I have a new PI and set it up with FPP running Version:v1.9-47-gdc9c195 FPP OS Build:v1.8. Got a new PiCap and have it installed on the pi with both running off a 5v power supply. I'm able to control a string of 50 5v pixels from the FPP display testing and also from xlights with FPP in bridge mode. So far I'm good with that.

I'm having a problem getting some renard ss24's to work. My understanding is that I should see them light from the FPP display testing before thinking about trying them from xlights. I bought them used so that might be part of the problem. I'm assuming their good but this is my first time trying them. From what I've read I probably need to pick up a usb - rs-485 adapter to verify they work and possibly a PIC programmer to re-program the ss24's.

Before I do that, any tips or suggestions to get them to work with the PiCap and FPP. I'm not sure of which port, speed and other option to choose. I've tried a number of combinations. Currently I have 1 connected and set up in FPP->Output as #1 Active Renard 1 24 Port: ttyAMA0 Speed: 57600 8N1. I think I've tried all of the Output Config variations with no luck.

The 3 PiCap jumpers are on REN. The ss24 is connected to the PiCap with a standard cat5 cable from the PiCap to J2 on the SS24. I've tried a couple different cat5 cables and also tried a cable I made following the DMX (RJ-45) to Renard Connection found here (http://falconchristmas.com/forum/index.php?topic=6630.0)  On the renard, JP2 & JP3 are jumpered. The Power light is on on the ss24. I have yet to see any of the diagnostic lights come on.

Suggestions?

Offline ktaylor88

Re: PiCap and Renard ss24
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2017, 08:12:29 AM »
I'm new to this so be gentle.