Author Topic: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3  (Read 1757 times)

Offline DANANTAM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: Pittsburgh
  • Posts: 6
  • Kudos: 0
PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« on: February 20, 2017, 07:43:11 PM »
Can't seem to get the rtc to work.

Have it set to ds1305/ds1307
NTP Disabled

Reboot and set date and time.
But still get this message from putty - cannot access hardware clock.


hwclock: Cannot access the Hardware Clock via any known method.
hwclock: Use the --debug option to see the details of our search for an access
method.

Thanks to anybody who can help.
DANANTAM

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,856
  • Kudos: 214
Re: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« Reply #1 on: February 22, 2017, 08:36:35 AM »
Do you have the battery installed?
-
Chris

Offline DANANTAM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: Pittsburgh
  • Posts: 6
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« Reply #2 on: February 22, 2017, 01:14:26 PM »
Yes battery is installed. Positive side up

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,856
  • Kudos: 214
Re: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« Reply #3 on: February 22, 2017, 01:26:03 PM »
Can you run the following commands in putty and paste the results:

Code: [Select]
sudo i2cdetect -y 1
lsmod

Offline DANANTAM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: Pittsburgh
  • Posts: 6
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« Reply #4 on: February 22, 2017, 03:05:09 PM »
fpp@FPP ~ $ sudo i2cdetect -y 1
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
40: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
50: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
70: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- --
fpp@FPP ~ $ lsmod
Module                  Size  Used by
rtc_ds1307              9402  0
rtc_pcf2127             2630  0
i2c_dev                 5671  0
brcmfmac              177635  0
brcmutil                5501  1 brcmfmac
cfg80211              407580  1 brcmfmac
rfkill                 16036  2 cfg80211
i2c_bcm2708             4920  0
spi_bcm2835             7074  0
bcm2835_rng             1763  0
bcm2835_gpiomem         2860  0
uio_pdrv_genirq         2944  0
uio                     7753  1 uio_pdrv_genirq
fpp@FPP ~ $

Offline CaptainMurdoch

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Sep 2013
  • Location: Washington
  • Posts: 9,856
  • Kudos: 214
Re: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« Reply #5 on: February 23, 2017, 09:29:23 AM »
The RTC isn't showing up in the i2c output.

Can you post some high resolution pictures of the top and bottom of the PiCap?

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« Reply #6 on: February 23, 2017, 09:31:11 AM »
May have got fried from the short. PM me your address and I can send you another.
PixelController, LLC
PixelController.com

Offline Yamr6rider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Posts: 106
  • Kudos: 2
  • Here we go!
Re: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« Reply #7 on: February 27, 2017, 01:50:44 PM »
May have got fried from the short. PM me your address and I can send you another.

Speaking of sending out PiCaps....  PixelController says ones bought now will ship in March.  Are you able to answer if that is likely to be early or late March?
Jon

Offline David Pitts

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Join Date: Mar 2013
  • Location: Falcon, CO
  • Posts: 3,932
  • Kudos: 77
Re: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« Reply #8 on: February 27, 2017, 06:19:42 PM »
They say a couple weeks.

Offline Yamr6rider

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Join Date: Jan 2017
  • Location: Oklahoma
  • Posts: 106
  • Kudos: 2
  • Here we go!
Re: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« Reply #9 on: March 03, 2017, 10:03:18 AM »
They say a couple weeks.

Well, that's less waiting than the F16V3...  Ugh, so much anticipation!

Why did I have to get into programmable Christmas display?  Why not woodworking?

Offline algerdes

  • Supporting Member
  • ******
  • Join Date: Apr 2014
  • Location: Lebanon, Illinois
  • Posts: 891
  • Kudos: 13
Re: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« Reply #10 on: March 04, 2017, 06:00:37 PM »
Why did I have to get into programmable Christmas display?  Why not woodworking?


The main reason: SLIVERS!


(Sorry, it was just hanging out there waiting for someone...  ;) )
Sequencers: Vixen3 and xLights
Players: FPP and xSchedule Controllers:  Renards - SS24/SS16; E1.31 - San Devices E682 - Falcon F16, F4, F48 - J1Sys - DIYLEDExpress E1.31 Bridges.  Much more!

Offline DANANTAM

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Join Date: Feb 2017
  • Location: Pittsburgh
  • Posts: 6
  • Kudos: 0
Re: PICAP RTC NOT WORKING ON PI3
« Reply #11 on: March 17, 2017, 11:09:03 AM »
Received new RTC today. Working like it should. 

Thanks Dave for sending out a new one.

Falcon PI Cap is a Great Product.

 

Back to top